- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 71 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Also available in the database Literature Online (LION).
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- Bibliography of American Literature (BAL)
Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930. A Chadwyck-Healy Literature Online collection.
- Gale Literary Index
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); over 300 philosophy titles are included. It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.
- Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
An online citation index to over 60,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror, developed by Hal W. Hall. This index is a useful supplement to the MLA International Bibliography, since it includes both scholarly and fan writing. Does not include book review coverage.
- Alternative Press Index & Archive [via OCLC]
Alternative Press Index covers over 700 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. The Archive indexes the years 1969-1990. For 1990-present, select "AltPressIndex" from the "Search in Database" field. To cross-search both, click on the tab labeled "Databases," then select AltPressIndex and AltPressIndexArchive.
- Play Index
The Play Index searches publication details of over 30,000 plays published after 1949 and written from Antiquity to the present. Search for plays by title, author, subject, style, genre, cast type, and more. This database searches for copies of plays published both separately and in collections/anthologies.
The print version of Play Index is available for the years 1949-2002 in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, Z5781.P53