This is the "African and Middle East: other Primary Sources" page of the "AFRICAN and AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

AFRICAN and AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/AFRICAN_and_AFRICAN-AMERICAN_STUDIES Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

African and Middle East: other Primary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEXES

  • Africa-Wide Information [via EBSCO]  Icon
    Africa-Wide Information (formerly Africa Wide NiPAD combines databases to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of sources offering unique and extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Includes over 2.4 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century. The advanced search allows the research to search all the collected datasets or focus on particular sets.
    Coverage: 2000-present
  • Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database
    In February 2008 this English-language database had indexed over 60,000 articles from over 500 English-language and multilingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
  • Atlantic History Bibliography [via Oxford Bibliographies Online]  Icon
    This extensive annotated bibliography focuses on the "interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century."
    It consists of more than 100 separate entries, presenting the best in modern scholarship as well as key primary sources. Entries can be geographical ("Brazil, the Caribbean), or broadly or narrowly topical (Religion, Sugar).

    Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes
  • Index Islamicus [via Proquest]  Icon
    The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
    Coverage: 1906-current
  • African Studies Bibliography [via Oxford Bibliographies Online]  Icon
    This extensive annotated bibliography explores multidisciplinary literature that is "diverse, fast moving, controversial, and scattered among unfamiliar sources, we have asked leading scholars to identify the most significant themes and areas of study in their fields, recommend the best sources for exploring them, and discuss these works conceptual and empirical significance to provide a series of guided studies through the diverse approaches to a wide array of complex subjects."

    Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

PRIMARY SOURCES

  • African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive [via Readex]  Icon
    Full text of sixty-nine historic newspapers from different African cities. Coverage differs per title. Dates range and represents 1800-1920s. This selection is a subsection of Readex's World Newspaper archive. See link below.
    Coverage: 1800-1920s
  • Confidential Print: Africa (1834-1966) [via Adam Matthew]  Icon
    This is a full-text collection of documents from the "United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966."
  • Confidential Print: The Middle East (1839-1969) [via Adam Matthew]  Icon
    This full-text collection includes "all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one-page letters or telegrams; others were large volumes or texts of treaties." It covers a "broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan."
  • Empire Online [via Adam Matthew]  Icon
    Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
    Coverage: 1492-present
    For help using this database
  • Church Missionary Society Periodicals [via Adam Matthew]  Icon
    This is a full-text collection of the publications of the British philanthropic institutions, the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society from 1804-2009."Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter." The CMS was active in many African countries, the "Mediterranean, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas"
  


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip