Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016
HISTORICAL NEWSPAPERS and LITERATURE COLLECTIONS
The Library collects pamphlets from left wing and right wing organizations, many of which bear on African American issues. These are held in Special Collections and visible through the Harvest Library Catalog. See Special Collections for more information.
- African Writer's Series [Chadwyck-Healey]
The Heinemann's African Writers Series was founded by Nigerian playwright Wole Soyinka in 1962. It features the key texts of modern African literature, and a record of post-colonialism in culture. This database includes the full text of collection's over 230 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose from African writers. Titles can be browsed or searched.
- Black Abolitionist Papers
Set of primary sources from African Americans actively involved in the movement to end slavery in the United States between 1830 and 1865.
Over 15,000 items are available for searching.
- Black Drama [Alexander Street Press]
Black Drama contains the full text of hundreds of plays by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Also contains theatrical production information.
Coverage: mid 19th century-present
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery a Transnational Archive [via Gale]
UCDavis subscribes to part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of Slavery of this resource. These components of Slavery and Anti-Slavery include collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the legal and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.
- African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive [via Readex]
Full text of sixty-nine historic newspapers from different African cities. Coverage differs per title. Dates range and represents 1800-1920s. This selection is a subsection of Readex's World Newspaper archive. See link below.
- CRL's African Studies Collection
The College Research Libraries have assembled a strong collection of historical material from Africa including wide variety of newspapers, monographs, archival collections, serials, government publications, and dissertations, spanning four centuries and covering virtually every country in Africa.
- African American Newspaper Collection [via Accessible Archives]
African American Newspaper Collection [via Accessible Archives]
Full-text of seven 19th Century African American Newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder. Coverage varies by newspaper.
- Black Studies Center [via Proquest]
Black Studies Center brings together historical and current material for research projects on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black Periodicals, and Newspapers, including the full text backfile of the Afro-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Related: A fuller description of the Black Studies Center's scopeHelp with Black Studies Center
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains a selection of contemporary Africa-based newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 1
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 2