This is the "ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES" page of the "Education: Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Education: Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/EDUCATION Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS & DICTIONARIES

Cover Art
Education - Oxford Bibliographies - Luanna H. Meyer  Icon
Includes more than 125 entries on a variety of education-related topics. Combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a scholarly encyclopedia to provide an authoritative guide to the current scholarship.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education - James A. Banks (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LC1099 .E39 2012 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9781412981521
Publication Date: 2012
With 695 signed entries with cross-references and recommended readings, the Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education presents research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and while most of the entries in the Encyclopedia will focus on the United States, diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States, are intricately connected. From A-to-Z, this Encyclopedia will cover the full spectrum of diversity issues, including race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Primary Education - Denis Hayes
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB1556.7.G7 H39 2010 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9780415485180
Publication Date: 2009
Unique in its field, the Encyclopedia of Primary Education brings together a wide-ranging body of information relating to current educational practice in a single indispensable volume. This book provides a series of descriptions, definitions and explanations that engage with important practical and conceptual ideas in primary education and contains over 500 entries incorporating: curriculum subjects, themes and topics, theories, policies and educational controversies, pedagogical terms relating to teaching and learning, commentaries on current issues in primary education, influential figures in education, both past and present, the impact of educational research on policy and practice.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education - Eugene F. Provenzo (Editor); John Philip Renaud (Editor)
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB17 .E53 2009 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9781412906784
Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. The first two volumes consist of A-Z entries, and a third volume is made up of documentary, photographic, and visual resources. The two A-Z volumes include essays representing the major disciplines (philosophy, history, sociology, etc.).

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Language and Education - Nancy H. Hornberger (Other Adaptation by, Editor)  Icon
ISBN: 9780387304243
Publication Date: 2007
In this second, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments including two new volumes of research and scholarly content essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in the field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education - Stephen Lerman (Editor)  Icon
ISBN: 9789400749788
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education is a comprehensive reference text, covering every topic in the field with entries ranging from short descriptions to much longer pieces where the topic warrants more elaboration. The entries provide access to theories and to research in the area and refer to the leading publications for further reading.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Science Education - Richard Gunstone (Editor)  Icon
ISBN: 9789400721500
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of Science Education provides a comprehensive reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, and to do so via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe. Because of the frequent ways in which scholarship in science education has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia has significance beyond the field of science education.

Cover Art
A Dictionary of Education - Susan Wallace
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB15 .D483 2008 Lib Use Only
ISBN: 9780199212064
Publication Date: 2009
The field of education is vitally important but it involves a specialized vocabulary and terminology which may be unfamiliar to those new to the discipline. The new Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for 1,250 terms that anyone studying education or involved in teaching is likely to encounter. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning - Norbert M. Seel (Editor)  Icon
ISBN: 9781441914286
Publication Date: 2014
The Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning provides an up-to-date, broad and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education - Wayne E. Wright; Sovicheth Boun; Ofelia GarcĂ­a  Icon
ISBN: 9781118533499
Publication Date: 2015
The Handbook of Bilingual and Multilingual Education presents the first comprehensive international reference work of the latest policies, practices, and theories related to the dynamic interdisciplinary field of bilingual and multilingual education. Offers extensive coverage in sixteen chapters of language and education issues in specific and diverse regional/geographic contexts. Covers pedagogical issues such as language assessment as well as offering evolving perspectives on the needs of specific learner populations, such as ELLs, learners with language impairments, and bilingual education outside of the classroom.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip