This is the "POLLS and SURVEYS" page of the "SOCIOLOGY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

SOCIOLOGY  

subject guide for sociology highlighting key resources for the discovery of research literature.
Last Updated: Sep 30, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/SOCIOLOGY Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

POLLS and SURVEYS Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

POLLS AND SURVEYS

Social Science Data Service at UC Davis (http://ssds.ucdavis.edu/)
The Social Science Data Service (SSDS) is a unit of the Institute of Governmental Affairs (IGA). SSDS provides quantitative computing and consulting services and exploits economies of scale to provide cost-effective, specialized resources in support of social science research on the UC Davis campus.

ICPSR Social Science Data Holdings (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/index.jsp) [Restricted]

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data. This site links to training and curricular material, and a database which provides access to publications based on ICPSR data holdings. See also: Database of publications based on ICPSR data holdings. (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/ICPSR/citations/index.jsp) and The Minority Data Resource Center (MDRC) (http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/MDRC/),
which provides data resources that can be used in the analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States.

United States Bureau of the Census (http://www.census.gov/)
 This U.S. Census Bureau site is the entry point to the 2000 Census data as well as more current American Community survey data, economic statistics, and geographic and map products. It includes links to the "American FactFinder and to "Quick Facts" summary profiles for places, counties, and states. 
Coverage: Links to the Decennial Supplementary Surveys, the 1990 census, and selected historical data from 1790-1990.
Related:  See also American Factfinder. (http://factfinder2.census.gov/)
 
Population Reference Bureau PBR (http://www.prb.org/)
The Population Reference Bureau website provides global population handbooks, serials, and reference publications, as well as data analysis tools for understanding and communicating population and health trends.
Coverage:Contemporary
.
Polling [via NationalJournal.com] (http://www.nationaljournal.com/polling) [Restricted]
National Journal Online's polling file reports on the latest polls and survey results. 
 
Harris Poll Interactive (http://www.harrisinteractive.com/harris%5Fpoll/index.asp)
Findings of Harris Poll surveys from 1998 onward with analysis and commentary. Also offers the opportunity to participate in online polling, as well as links to Harris Interactive corporate information.
Coverage: 1998-present
Related:Print edition of Harris Poll is located in Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HN90.P8 H31 (1990-present) 
.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) (http://www.lapopsurveys.org/)
The Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP), hosted at Vanderbilt University, links to over 60 academic studies based on survey research conducted mainly in Latin America. The LAPOP surveys analyze citizen views on topics that range from system support and political tolerance, to citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism.
 
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research (http://www.ropercenter.uconn.edu/)
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.  Producer of: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Access: Search Roper's Remote iPoll Databank, Search Roper's Remote Online Catalog of Studies
.
California Data and Statistics [UC Davis Library] (http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/dept/govinfo/state/statistics.php)
Guide to statistics and data by and about the state of California. Links include official California government agency resources, including Department of Finance, California Department of Education, California budget and more.
 
Immigration Statistics - Data and Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security (http://www.dhs.gov/immigration-statistics)
Statistical data from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, profiles on legal permanent residents, and on naturalized citizens, mapping information available in pdf as well as downloadable data formats. Statistics include numbers of immigratants, status, country of origin, etc. Data available from 2004, with archived information from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 1996.
Related: Previous years from INS archived at DHS archived publications site. (http://www.dhs.gov/archives#1)
 
GSS: General Social Survey (http://www.norc.org/GSS+Website/)
The General Social Survey contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remain unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades. The 1972-2006 GSS has 5,084 variables, time-trends for 1,643 variables, and 269 trends having 20+ data points. The GSS is part of the National Data Program for the Sciences at the University of Chicago
Coverage: 1972-present
Related: GSS user guide (PDF file) (http://publicdata.norc.org:41000/gssbeta/Users_Guide/GSS_NESSTAR_Guide.pdf)PDF
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip