- African Americans and National Identities in Central America
An interdisciplinary, multinational research program to reconceptualize and document, both visually and textually, the history of people of African descent in Central America. Supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities Collaborative Research Program, Mount Holyoke College and The Center for Central American Historical Research at the Universidad de Costa Rica.
- Borderlands Encyclopedia
The Borderlands Encyclopedia is the design, development and implementation of a multimedia instructional resource on contemporary issues of the U.S.-Mexico border for broad-based distribution to other educational agencies utilizing the WWW and CD-ROM technologies. The Encyclopedia serves as a gateway or portal to many web sites containing information about the border region.
- Borderlands Resources
Guide to databases, full-text resources and print works related to the U.S. - Mexico borderlands region.
The FAMSI site offers access to numerous databases, image banks, bibliographies, online glossaries and dictionaries, web links and full text scholarly articles about the Pre-Columbian Maya, Aztec, Zapotec, and Olmec cultures of Mesoamerica. Collections include, among many others: the Justin Kerr rollout photographs of Maya vases, the Robert Montgomery Dictionary of Maya Hieroglyphs, the Linda Schele Drawing Collection, the Tikal Digital Access Project images, the University of Pennsylvania Library Mesoamerican Language Texts Digitization Project texts and digitized Graz codices, accompanied by notable commentaries.
- LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. The target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. While many of the resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors, the LANIC site has also become an important gateway to Latin America for primary and secondary school teachers and students, private and public sector professionals, and just about anyone looking for information about this important region.
- Latin American Council for the Social Sciences (CLACSO)
The Latin American Council for the Social Sciences (CLACSO) is a non-profit, non-governmental, international organization founded in 1967 by a group of prominent Latin American social science researchers. CLACSO is organized as federation of approximately 100 independent and university-based research centers in Latin America and the Caribbean. Three databases, Proyectos de Investigación, Libros Publicados por CLACSO and Centros de Investigación, are available for searching.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Latin American Studies
Compiled by noted Latin American scholars, this set of area studies bibliographies represents numerous disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, literature, art, anthropology, and political science. Sample topics range from indigenous studies and the Conquest and colonial history and society, to race, immigration, the role of women, significant political events and cultural studies in contemporary Latin America. New bibliographies are scheduled to be added in each Fall and Spring.
- Repositories of Primary Resources
Compiled by the Special Collections Dept. of the University of Idaho library, the list has links to over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar. A separate section for Latin America and the Caribbean includes links to many notable archivos, arquivos and archives of 25 countries. Some links lead to digital images and full text resources.