- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 (BETA) presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture published and digitized by Arte Público Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., covering geographically the fifty states of the Union. The premier collection documents intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times. Currently, the collections comprises approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.
Coverage: 19th Century - 20th Century
- Caribbean Literature
The collection contains full text 19th - 21st century poetry, fiction and non-fiction written by authors from throughout the Caribbean. Included are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages, in addition to works published by authors who have relocated to North America. The database currently has over 63,000 pages; new content is added biweekly.
Coverage: 18th - 21st Centuries
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Collections include newspapers, photographs, archives of Caribbean leaders and governments, official historical documents, and historic and contemporary maps.
This is a collection of books digitized by major US research libraries. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. Like Google books, some of the scanned titles are not actually viewable. The titles in this collection (both the full view and restricted ones) are cataloged in Melvyl.
- Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It includes large online collections of moving images, music and audio recordings.
- Latin American Public Opinion Project
The Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP), hosted at Vanderbilt University, links to over 60 academic studies based on survey research conducted mainly in Latin America. The LAPOP surveys analyze citizen views on topics that range from system support and political tolerance, to citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism. To date surveys have been conducted and are now being archived for: Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and Venezuela as well as for Madagascar, Israel and Albania.
- Latin American Women Writers
The collection contains 300 plays and more than 100,000 pages of poetry and prose written by Latin American women authors from 19 countries. Spanning a period from the colonial era to the present day, the literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials are available full-text in their original language.
- Linking the Americas
Linking the Americas Project (LTA) is a collaboration between the Stanford University Libraries and the Stanford University Press, made possible by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. The project offers a significant body of materials: more than one hundred Latin American Studies titles from the Stanford University Press; rare published and archival materials from the Stanford University Libraries Special Collections; and the book Chile in the Nineties, a major electronic bilingual project in cooperation with the President's Office in Chile.