- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Author: Lund University Libraries
The DOAJ covers nearly 5500 open access scholarly journals that range in subject coverage spanning the sciences, humanities and social sciences; half of these periodicals are searchable at the article level. All journals are peer-reviewed or have high editorial quality. Content includes scientific and scholarly periodicals that publish research or review papers in full text. Publications may emanate from international academic, government, commercial, non-profit private sources. To be included in the DOAJ, an open access journal must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and allow researchers to "read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles.”
Coverage: Varies by journal title
- Duke University Press Journals Online
The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.
- Highwire Search and Retrieve
Highwire Search and Retrieve is a search engine that allows one to search through the full text of numerous scholarly and peer-reviewed journals, including many that are accessible from the UC Davis IP address or proxy server. The collection contains Duke University Press, Oxford University Press and Sage Electronic Journals, as well as many other university press journals and important academic society publications. Highwire Press is a product of Stanford University.
- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
- Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.