Connect From Off-Campus
Use the VPN or the proxy server to access the library’s databases and online journals from off campus.
Tips for Database Searching
1. Most databases allow you to limit your search by criteria such as date, language and publication type (e.g. peer reviewed journals)
2. Note how your search results are sorted. Many databases sort by date, with the most recently published articles appearing first
3. Click on any article citation for additional details, including the Abstract and Subject Terms
4. If the full article is not available, use
5. If you are not satisfied with your results, try a different combination of search terms, or select another database to search
Using the Databases
The following databases are suggested for finding scholarly and other articles in journals. The databases will also include citations to books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and other materials. Specialized databases in areas such as business, sociology, and psychology as well as art and design include citations related to the study of clothing and appearance.
To find the text of an article from a database, look for the yellow UC-eLinks button and click on it.
UC-eLinks will perform a search and link to the full electronic text of articles in journals that the library subscribes to via databases or publisher web sites. The UC-eLinks menu will present options to "Get it Online From", or if not available online, to "Find a copy in the library". The Find a copy in the library menu option will perform a search in the Harvest catalog, or if not at UC Davis, then search the Melvyl catalog for all UC libraries.
UC-eLinks will also provide options to "Request It" to get a copy from another library, "Add Citation to a Bibliography" or "Get Help".
For more on using UC-eLinks, see the Getting Started with UC-eLinks guide.
From Article Citation to the Article
This section is about finding an article when you have the citation. A citation will typically look like this:
Images of Success and the Preference for Luxury Brands. Mandel, Naomi; Petrova, Petia K; Cialdini, Robert B. Journal of Consumer Psychology16.1 (2006): 57-69.
To find the article, these are clues to interpreting the entry:
Article title: Images of Success and the Preference for Luxury Brands
Authors: Naomi Mandel, Petia K. Petrova, and Robert B. Cialdini
Journal title: Journal of Consumer Psychology
Date/Volume/Issue/Page number in the journal: Volume 16, Issue no. 1, 2006, pages 57-69
To find the article, use the Harvest Catalog to search by Journal Title.