Portal with a list of core links to key resources for ethnographically-based studies of culture.
- Web of Science Core Collection [via Web of Science]
Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary "cited reference" search capabilities. Coverage for the social sciences 1900-present; for the humanities, 1975-present.
While the majority of this large interdisciplinary database for the discovery of academic journal articles is populated with citations to science literature, it offers social science and humanities scholars unique benefits, including the opportunity to search across several sub-disciplines, strong reference tracking tools, and the ability to discover book chapters from the major acemic publishers.
- Women's Studies International [via EBSCO]
An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.
Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
- BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]
More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
• Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
• Online BIOSIS information
• Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
PLEASE NOTE: The PrimateLit database is no longer being updated as of November 30, 2010. The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. Coverage of the database spans 1940 to November 2010 and includes all publication categories (articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc.) and many subject areas (behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography). Literature acquisition, analysis, and indexing was a collaborative project of the Wisconsin Primate Research Center, the Washington National Primate Research Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
Coverage: 1940-November 30, 2010
- PubMed [U.S. National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health]
This standard resource for researchers in the health sciences will also be of interest to those working in medical and forensic anthropology, anthropology of health and disease, evolutionary studies, physical anthropology & the study of the fossil record. Publication date coverage: 1946-present.
- Francis [via EBSCO]
Produced by the Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS) of the French Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). A wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Particularly useful for coverage of publications issued in Europe or with a European focus. Coverage from 1972-present.