- American Factfinder
American Factfinder is the Census Bureau's data access point. It provides tools to look up, view and deliver data, reports, tables, maps and fact sheets on United States population, economy and industry statistics. Large and small scale geographies, eg., states, counties, places, census tracts and blocks can be searched. Data sets are from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and annual economic surveys. All data sets and statistics may be freely downloaded or viewed online.American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?
Coverage: Data sets are current and include the 2010 and 2000 Decennial Census, and the American Community Survey.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S.)
As a priority Open Government Initiative for President Obama's administration, Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
FedStats is no longer being updated, but is still useful. as a gateway to statistics from over 100 United States Federal government agencies. Link directly to statistical data from agencies, for example, the Census Bureau, and the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Access statistics by topics or subjects like crime, education, etc. Search across Federal government agencies using words or phrases to find agencies with statistics. Data sets vary by agency and format.
- Historical Census Browser
This site allows users to examine, manipulate and map data from the U.S. Censuses from 1790-1960. It is a powerful and easy-to-use resource produced by the Geospatial and Statistical Data Center at the University of Virginia Library
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition [via Cambridge University Press]
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) was culled from more than 1,000 sources to produce nearly 2,000 tables containing some 37,000 time series covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: agriculture, population, the economy, government, welfare and work. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a scholar in the field. Tables can be downloaded and viewed, as well as graphed and merged into custom tables.
The 5-volume print edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is available in Shields Library Gov Info Reference and H/SS Reference (HA202 .H57) and the Agricultural and Resource Economics Library (HA202 .H57 2006)
- Neighborhood Change Database [NCDB] Tract Data from 1970 to 2010
Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The All years normalized to 2010 selection allows you to compare data for various years. The data for years 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 are recalculated and normalized, and the report uses the 2010 tract ID (FIPS code). This allows you to compare data for various years within the exact same boundary definitions. By selecting "All years normalized to 2010" you can do actual apples-to-apples comparisons of historic data in 2010 tract definitions.American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?
- NHGIS National Historical Geographic Information System
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) is a historical GIS project to create and freely disseminate a database incorporating all available aggregate census information for the United States between 1790 and 2000. The project has created one of the largest collections in the world of statistical census information, much of which was not previously available to the research community because of legacy data formats and differences between metadata formats. In addition, NHGIS has created cartographic boundary files compatible with every census, and over 50 million lines of metadata describing the collection. The statistical and geographic data are disseminated free of charge through a sophisticated online data access system.American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?
- Proquest Statistical Insight
Index and abstract to government statistics helps to locate data. Provides quick statistical tables and also indexes a large number of statistics from federal government, international and state sources. Search by topic. Includes the Statistical Abstract Online.
- Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change.
The entire US Census from 1790 to 2010.
The entire American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2011.
All annual updates from the American Community Survey.
InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the United States for 2009 and 2010, including maps for counties and special census areas, as well as point maps of the actual congregation locations.
The Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010.
Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [Proquest Online Edition]
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. The government-published Statistical Abstract of the U.S. was discontinued following publication of the 2012 edition.
- Agricultural Statistics Data Base - Quick Stats
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service "Quick Stats" statistics database. Select U.S., state, or county data for crops, livestock and other agricultural commodities. Query database by geographic area, search by commodity, or view data in charts or maps. Data sets include Census of Agriculture.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S.)
- Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides access to statistics for a variety of U.S. Department of Justice reports and documents as well as some international statistics on crime and criminal justice. Link to data from the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports and download data series. Includes surveys of DNA Crime Laboratories.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data access point. Labor statistics include prices, inflation, employment, consumer price indices data and tables.
- CDC Wonder (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) - Public Health
Diversitydata.org is sponsored by the Harvard School of Public Health. It can be used to create customized reports describing over 100 measures of diversity, opportunity,and quality of life for 362 metropolitan areas. Sources include Census data and other government statistics.
- Economic Research Data Tools - from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
- Energy Information Administration
Official energy statistics from the U.S. government. The EIA, within the Department of Energy, provides data on all energy resources and related topics - petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable and alternative fuels. EIA also compiles information on international energy resources, provides forecasts and analyses, state and U.S. historical data, energy uses, greenhouse gases, and more energy-related data. Gasoline and diesel fuel prices are tracked weekly.
A one-stop source for environmental information from EPA.
- EPA Data Finder
The site is a single place to find a vast selection of EPA data sources, organized into topics such as air and water that are in easily downloadable formats.
- Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) USDA
Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) provides information on trade in agricultural commodities. See Data
for the Global Agricultural Trade System, and access to data on commodities, exports and more.
- FRASER: Federal Research Archival System for Economic Research
Scanned images of historical economic statistical publications, releases, and documents. A project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Related: For additional more current economic time series data. see FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data).
- Immigration Statistics - Data and Statistics from the Department of Homeland Security
Statistical data from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, profiles on legal permanent residents, and on naturalized citizens, mapping information available in pdf as well as downloadable data formats. Statistics include numbers of immigratants, status, country of origin, etc. Data available from 2004, with archived information from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 1996.
Related: Previous years from INS archived at DHS archived publications site
- National Agricultural Statistics Service
Data and Statistics from NASS include the Census of Agriculture with data from 1997, 2002 and 2007.
- National Center for Education Statistics
U.S. Department of Education site for educational statistics. Link to data tools, tables and figures, fast facts, publications and more from NCES home page. Data includes school district data, educational assessment, and public library data.
Related: Link directly to popular annual reports with statistical data:
Digest of Education Statistics, Condition of Education, Indicators of School Crime and Safety, and Projections of Education Statistics.
- Trade Data and Analysis
Provides information on import and export statistics.
- Trade Stats Express
International Trade Administration export and import data and state export data.
- TranStats: The Intermodal Transportation Database
A website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing a broad collection of intermodal transportation data collected by various agencies within the U.S.
- U.S. DOT Bureau of Transportation Statistics
- U.S. International Trade Data
Data and Information about foreign trade from the Census Bureau.
- Uniform Crime Reports
Uniform Crime Reports is the FBI site providing Crime in the U.S. annual statistical reports,and additional reports including Hate Crime Statistics; Terrorism Statistics, and more data from the National Incident-Based Reporting System.
Related: Bureau of Justice Statistics
releases statistical reports on corrections, courts and criminal justice. They also publish special topical reports.
- USA Trade Online
Access current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level. Data for many series goes back to 1992USA Trade Online is now FREE to all users. If you are new to USA Trade Online, you can sign up for your FREE account .
- USDA Nutrient Database
Search the USDA Nutrient Database and other data sets on food composition prepared by USDA-ARS's Nutrient Data Laboratory.