- Los Angeles Times (1881-1989) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers]
Historical coverage of the Los Angeles Times, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue in 1881.
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers]
Historical coverage of the Los Angeles Sentinel, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to 1934.
- San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) [via ProQuest Historical Newspapers]
Full-text page images of for the years 1865-1922.
- Historic California Newspapers in Chronicling America [via Library of Congress]
- California's Historical Newspapers [via Newsbank]
A full text collection of 13 California Newspapers covering the period between 1850 and 1900. It can be searched separately or in conjunction with the Early American Newspapers Collection (Series 1).
- Data.CA.GOV - State of California Data
Includes links to numeric and geographic data covering a variety of topics including demography, health statistics, state contracts, traffic records. Statistics and data sets are available from state agencies and links are provided to other data sources - local, federal and other sources.
- Digital Sanborn maps (California and Nevada) [via ProQuest]
Sanborn fire insurance maps, created to assist fire insurance companies assess risk, are large-scale community plans drawn at a scale of 50 feet to one inch. The maps give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers. Sanborn maps also contain data about construction details, building use and the utilities and transportation infrastructure that supported the community overall. Several editions of maps exist for some cities.
- Calisphere [via the University of California]
"Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items -- including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts -- reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere's content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations."
- California Historic Topographic Map Collection
Special Collections at California State University, Chico's Merriam Library has a fine collection of scanned historic topographic maps of California.
- Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection
The Los Angeles Public Library's History and Genealogy Department's Photo Collection emphasizes the history of Los Angeles, Southern California, and California
- Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
The Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive (JARDA) serves as a gateway to the archival and manuscript holdings of numerous California archives, libraries, oral history programs, and museums featuring online finding aids, digital images, electronic texts and oral histories. There are 10,000 digital images complemented by 20,000 pages of electronic transcriptions documenting the experience of Japanese Americans in World War II internment camps.
Coverage: 1941 - 1945
- Chinese in California, The, 1850-1925 [via the Library of Congress]
This site illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter. These documents describe the experiences of Chinese immigrants in California, including the nature of inter-ethnic tensions.
(Sources: The Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley; The Ethnic Studies Library, UC Berkeley; and The California Historical Society in San Francisco.)