- Early Encounters in North America (EENA): Peoples, Cultures and the Environment [via Alexander Street Press]
EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from "The Birds of America" as well as the complete contents of the three-volume "The Quadrupeds of North America".
Coverage: 1534-1959 For help using this database
- Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition Online
Searchable full-text of the journals edited by Gary Moulton. Also includes related primary and secondary material.
- Nevada Historical Newspapers [via Newsbank]
A full text collection of 7 Nevada Newspapers covering the period between 1864 and 1930. Includes long runs of the Nevada State Journal and the Elko Daily Independent. Other titles represented by one or two issues.
It can be searched as part of the larger collection of America's Historical Newspapers or by itself. To search separately, follow the link then click "place of publication" tab and select Nevada.
- Arizona Republican (1890-1922) [via ProQuest]
Full text plus page images of the early decades of this important Southwestern Newspaper.
- Digital Sanborn maps (California and Nevada) [via ProQuest]
Sanborn fire insurance maps, created to assist fire insurance companies assess risk, are large-scale community plans drawn at a scale of 50 feet to one inch. The maps give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, and house and block numbers. Sanborn maps also contain data about construction details, building use and the utilities and transportation infrastructure that supported the community overall. Several editions of maps exist for some cities.
- American County Histories--Western States [via accessible archives]
A fully searchable collection of late nineteenth and early twentieth century histories of counties in the Western United States.
On the Search Page, select "American County Histories"
(As a bonus with this subscription UCDavis has access to the full suite of Accessible Archives sources until October 2014)
- Pacific Northwest Labor and Civil Rights History Projects [University of Washington]
This site provides access to video oral histories, photographs, historical documents, films, essays and lesson plans organized into eleven projects on labor and civil rights history in the Pacific Northwest.
- Bracero History Archive [via Center for History and New Media at Georgetown University]
Started in 1942, the Bracero Program brought millions of Mexican guest workers to the United States, and over the next two decades, more than 4 million Mexicans came to work in the country. This public history resource from the Center for History and New Media at Georgetown University brings together oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the program. Visitors can read the "About" section to learn more about the program and its legacy and then move on to browse the documents. The document archive can be searched in its entirety, or users can also move through areas that include "Images", "Documents", and "Oral Histories". Educators will want to look over the "Teaching" area, as it features three different learning activities which draw on the archive's documents. Also, the "Resources" area includes a video tutorial on how to use the archive effectively and several interview questions for those who might know some former Bracero workers.
- Alaska's Digital Archives
"Alaska's Digital Archives presents a wealth of historical photographs, albums, oral histories, moving images, maps, documents, physical objects, and other materials from libraries, museums and archives throughout our state."
- Arizona Memory Project
"The Arizona Memory Project provides access to the wealth of primary sources in Arizona libraries, archives, museums and other cultural institutions." Collections cover a wide variety of topics in Arizona history including, among others, Japanese American Relocation, Hydroelectric Power, Aviation, Military, Native American History, Law."