- Digital Resources in the History of Medicine [via National Library of Medicine]
"NLM historical collections include selected digitized material relating to the history of medicine. Chosen from the manuscripts and books collections, the prints and photographs collection, historical films and videos, current and past exhibitions, and the Digital Manuscripts Program, these digitized materials cover a spectrum of centuries and cultures from medieval Islam to contemporary biomedical research."
- Medical Heritage Library [via Internet Archive]
A digitized collection of rare medical books, "the Medical Heritage Library (MHL) is a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries. The MHL promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine." Currently contains more than 37,000 items.
- Pybus Podcast Collection (History of Medicine)
"The Pybus Podcast Collection is an archive of audio recordings taken from the Pybus Seminar Series, a programme of public seminars sponsored by the Northern Centre for the History of Medicine, Newcastle University and supported by the Wellcome Trust. The distinguished speakers represent a wide range of research areas within the History of Medicine."
Some of the more recent lectures include:
'The Drug Trade in Colonial India,' Dr Nandini Bhattacharya (University of Leicester)
'The body in pain and tales of redemption and damnation during the wars of religion,' Dr Luc Racaut (Newcastle University)
'“Stand Up Straight”: Posture and the Meanings Attributed to the Upright Body,'Prof Sander L. Gilman (Emory University)
'Collecting Knowledge for the Family: Household Recipe Books in Early Modern England, 'Dr Elaine Leong (University of Cambridge)
- Wellcome Witnesses to Twentieth Century Medicine
"The volumes in this series contain transcripts of the Witness Seminars at which significant figures in twentieth-century medicine are invited to discuss specific discoveries or events in recent medical history. All papers and records collected during the organization of the meetings and editing of the transcripts are deposited in Archives and Manuscripts, Wellcome Library, London, in collection GC/253." All volumes are freely available here as PDF downloads.
A few of the topics covered are:
Technology Transfer in Britain: The Case of Monoclonal Antibodies: Self and Non-Self: History of Autoimmunity: Endogenous Opiates
Early heat transplant surgery in the UK
Looking at the Unborn: Historical aspects of obstetric ultrasound.
British Contributions to Medical Research and Education in Africa after the Second World War