This is the "More History of Science" page of the "History of Science, Medicine and Technology Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

History of Science, Medicine and Technology Subject Guide  

Last Updated: Nov 9, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/History_of_Science Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More History of Science Print Page
  Search: 
 

BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEXES

  • History of Science in the Unted States: Research Aids for the Nineteenth Century
    This set of Bibliographies of books, dissertations and primary source materials gathered over decades by Historian/Archivist Clark Elliott is an invaluable starting place for research in this field. It also includes his essay, "Antebellum American Science: A Thematic (and Somewhat Bibliographic Review)."
  • Bibliografía Histórica de la Ciencia y la Técnica en España
    The database indexes scholarship on the history of science and technology published in Spain or by Spanish authors all over the world. Most materials are in Spanish, but it includes some English-language materials on Spain or the Spanish-speaking world.

    Created and made freely available by: Instituto de Historia de la Medicina y de la Ciencia López Piñero
  • World History of Science Online : Database of Bibliographic and Archival Sources
    "The WHSO project will create a free sustainable online resource for the worldwide community interested in the history of science and technology in all its richness and diversity."
  • Science in the Nineteenth Century Periodical
    This is a searchable index to the science-related content of sixteen general interest British periodicals published in the Nineteenth Century. (It does not index all the content of these periodicals). The index "includes a range of distinct periodical genres intended for widely differing audiences. We have thus indexed radical, religious, and comic periodicals, and titles intended for women and children, in addition to more familiar reviews, miscellanies, and literary magazines."

FULL-TEXT RESOURCES

  • Encyclopedia of Science and Religion [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    Encyclopedia of Science and Religion [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]
    A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world's religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology. Examines controversial issues such as human cloning and stem cell research long with more traditional questions such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.
  • Scientifica
    Scientifica is a full-text collection of science books and periodicals published in French from the late 18th to the early 20th century. When complete it will contain 300 books and 154 volumes of periodicals.
  • Biodiversity Heritage Library
    The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts "with information on over a 150 million species names." {RG 12/11/13}
    Biodiversity Heritage Library Tutorials
  • Digital Library from Natural History Museum MAHN-84
    This is a large collection of mostly old and rare Natural History books digitized by the Natural History Museum MAHN-84 in Vaucluse, France. Subjects covered include:Zoology, Botany, Entomology, Caving, Biospeleology and more. It is an open access collection.
  • History of Science in Latin America and the Caribbean [via Univ. of New Hampshire]
    HOSLAC is a free database of 200+ primary sources (mostly images) on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each image is accompanied by a brief essay that places it in its historical context. Thematic groups of images are also introduced by essays. HOSLAC was produced at the University of New Hampshire with funding from the NSF.
    Coverage: Pre-Columbian to the present
  • New Books in Science, Technology and Society [via the New Books Network]
    Read summaries of new books in this field and then listen to interviews with their authors.

    "New Books in Science, Technology, and Society (NBSTS) aims for a broadly interdisciplinary coverage of recently-published books in science studies. The channel is currently co-hosted by Carla Nappi (Assistant Professor of History at the University of British Columbia) and Patrick Slaney (PhD candidate in History at the University of British Columbia)."
    This site is part of the New Books Network, a consortium of podcasts dedicated to raising the level of public discourse by introducing serious authors to serious audiences." The site features scholars working in dozens of academic disciplines, including Science,History, Technology, and Environmental Studies.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip