This is the "Full-Text Resources" page of the "ART, ARCHITECTURE AND ART HISTORY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ART, ARCHITECTURE AND ART HISTORY  

Image Credit: CHAGALL Marc |Couple with a Goat. |1911 Russian|Expressionist. Used under a Creative Commons license courtesy of WorldImages (http://worldimages.sjsu.edu).
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ART Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Full-Text Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

FULL-TEXT PRIMARY SOURCES

  • Vogue Archive, 1892-present [via Proquest]  Icon
    The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Search by advertisement, article, editor, and more or browse each issue by date.
    Date: 1892 to present
  • Digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet
    "Designinform Research Guides No.2: Free-access, digitized art, architecture, design and craft journals on the Internet." The site includes descriptions of and links to more than 50 digitized journals from the U.S. and Europe.

    Coverage is mostly late nineteenth and early twentieth century, but some journals are from the mid nineteenth century, while others go right into the 2000s.
  • Royal Academy of Arts Winter Exhibition Catalogues, 1870-1939,
    This site contains the scanned images of each Royal Academy Winter Exhibition Catalogue. They are both browseable and searchable. Sometimes it also includes color images of some of the works of art represented in the catalogues.
    Coverage: 1870-1939
  • Guggenheim Museum Digital Exhibition Catalogues [via Guggenheim Museum]
    Full-text access to over 60 historic Guggenheim Museum exhibition catalogues. Exhibition dates range from 1937-1999.
  • American Craft Council Library Digital Collections
    This site is an "open-access online compendium containing thousands of unique images, documents, and media. . . detail[ing] the history of contemporary craft in America." It includes collections on the history of the American Craft Council, exhibition catalogs from the Museum of Contemporary Crafts and the American Craft Museum, and more.
  • ArchInform
    This architecture database includes over 11,000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database. One can search by architect, subject or location. Includes many images of buildings and plans.
  • CTBUH Tall Building Database
    The Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat
    Database contains information on 10,000+ buildings – including height information, number of floors, function, structural material, location, professions involved, building images etc. This information is free for download and searchable by a number of parameters, including year, location, type etc. Users can create their own lists, which can be captured in pdf format, or transferred via graphs and other outputs."

KEY FULL-TEXT NEWSPAPERS

See the Newspapers and Current Events Subject Guide for a complete list of online newspapers

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS

  • Encyclopedia of Aesthetics [via Oxford University Press]  Icon
    Part of Oxford Art Online, this encyclopedia surveys critical thought on art, culture, and society, including major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of all the arts -- from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, dance, television, film, and popular culture. Because it is included in Oxford Art Online, it can be searched alone when individually selected or in conjunction with the other reference works in the collection.
  • Encyclopedia of American Studies [via Johns Hopkins University Press]  Icon
    Edited by Miles Orvell, this is the electronic continuation of Groiler's four volume print version of the Encyclopedia of American Studies(EAS) It is published online by Johns Hopkins Press. Like its predecessor, it provides topical entries on the transdisciplinary field of American Studies, from Hinduism to Hip Hop, from Television to Think Tanks. Its scholarly survey articles, which cover a deep range of social cultural topics, are furnished with key references to further reading. The editorial advisory board to this publication is appointed by the American Studies Association.
    Date: 2010

    Related: Encyclopedia of American Studies, 4 volume print version, Groiler
    Humanities and Social Sciences Reference E169.1 E625 2001
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam Online [via Brill Academic Publishers]  Icon
    "The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries."
    Date: 2002 -
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  Icon
    This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
  • Encyclopaedia Judaica [via Gale Virtual Reference Library]  
      
      Icon
    This is a new, fully updated edition. It contains thousands of articles on all aspects of Jewish tradition, contemporary culture, politics and history.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip