This is the "More Bibliographic Indexes" page of the "ART, ARCHITECTURE AND ART HISTORY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

ART, ARCHITECTURE AND ART HISTORY  

Image Credit: CHAGALL Marc |Couple with a Goat. |1911 Russian|Expressionist. Used under a Creative Commons license courtesy of WorldImages (http://worldimages.sjsu.edu).
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ART Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

More Bibliographic Indexes Print Page
  Search: 
 

MORE SUBJECT SPECIFIC INDEXES

  • Art History Bibliography [Oxford Bibliographies Online]  Icon
    Art history is a vast discipline, geographically, historically, and intellectually. This bibliography serves as a guide to the key works in all areas of the discipline.
  • Design and Applied Arts Index (DAII) [via Proquest]  Icon
    The DAAI indexes more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers. It also includes two directories--one is a directory of academic design and craft programs in colleges and universities, the other is a directory of design and craft journals.
    Coverage: 1973-present
  • Art Index Retrospective  Icon
    ART INDEX is being REPLACED by ART SOURCE which contains all records from Art Full Text and Art Index in addition to significant new content.

    Indexes over 420 art journalism publications including journals, yearbooks and art museum periodicals, from 1929 through 1984. Subjects include advertising art, architecture, interior design, landscape architecture and motion pictures.

    BOOK REVIEWS: The original paper edition contained book reviews which are NOT included. To search for book reviews, see the physical copy Shields Library Z5937 .A7
    Coverage: 1929-1984
  • Bibliography of the History of Art [via Getty]
    Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals covering European and American art from late antiquity to 2009
    Coverage: 1973-2009
    Related:

    For more recent publications, 2008-current, use the INTERNATIONAL BIBLIOGRAPHY OF ART
  • Burlington Magazine Online Index
    This Index "includes the entire content of The Burlington Magazine dating from March 1903 until December 2002 (NB – currently up to December 1982, work on more recent years is in progress). The Online Index is free to use, subject to free registration. JSTOR subscribers can then view articles and illustrations online."

    The indexing is specialized and in-depth, including such browsable fields as artists, collectors and art dealers, patrons, private galleries, and more.
    Coverage: 1903-1982
  • Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals [via OCLC FirstSearch]  Icon
    Indexes 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century
  • SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs [via OCLC FirstSearch]  Icon
    Describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late 16th century to scheduled auctions not yet held

GENERAL BIBLIOGRAPHIC INDEXES

 These databases are useful for research in Art, Architecture and Art History, even though these fields are not their primary focus.

  • Bibliography of Asian Studies  Icon
    The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 800,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide beginning in 1971 to present.
    Coverage: 1971-present, depending upon the subfile
  • International Medieval Bibliography [via Brepols]  Icon
    Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.
    Coverage: 1967-present
    There is a physical version in the Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Collection.
  • L'Année philologique; bibliographie critique et analytique de l'antiquité gréco-latine.  Icon
    This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more.
    Coverage: 1949-current

    Related:
    Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5
  • Medieval Studies Bibliography [via Oxford Bibliographies Online]
    This extensive set of annotated bibliographies "explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries" through the lenses of many different academic disciplines. Nearly 100 entries are organized around people, places, concepts, ideas, events and more. They offer, equally, a survey of what is new as well as thoughtful orientations to key primary and secondary literature.

    Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes
  • Renaissance and Reformation Bibliography [Oxford Bibliographies Online]  Icon
    This extensive set of 120 bibliographic entries explores the world as known to Europeans during the period "which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. The entries provide excellent orientations to seminal and current scholarships on broadly (the Ottoman Empire)and narrowly constructed topics (Montaigne).

    Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes
  • MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]  Icon
    The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
    Coverage: 1926-present
    Related: Instructions on downloading filters and importing citations using Endnote
    MLA Directory of Periodicals
    Quick Reference Card
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip