Film and Media Studies
- Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Their collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 1
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 2
- ProQuest Current Newspapers
- Times of London Digital Archive [via Gale]
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2008.
The "Access World News" database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.
- American Periodicals Series Online [via Proquest]
American Periodicals Series Online [via Proquest]
Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
Related:About J Stor
Visit this page to learn about the holdings of JSTOR journals. See Harvest Library Catalog for UC Davis access to recent and current materials.
- Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.
Related: Mirror site.
- Chronicling America
This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.
Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690 - present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles.
- Movie Review Query Engine
This internet engine searches for reviews of over 30,000 films from a variety of (mostly free) sites. Older films are reviewed, but by contemporary critics. The site also gives up-to-date listing of top ten box office films.
- UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]
The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library's eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.
- American Memory [Library of Congress]
American Memory provides open access to full text historical documents and materials from the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Pacific Film Archive Library & Study Center (CineFiles)
CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.
CineFiles currently includes documents on the films of more than 150 major international directors, materials describing silent Soviet cinema, and PFA's unique collection of exhibitor manuals, among other documents.
Related: PFA Library & Film Study Center
Metacritic compiles reviews of movies, DVDs, television, and more from both critics in major newspapers and site users. Based on the combined reviews, it also "scores" a given film based on its critical reception.
- 60 Minutes: 1974-2014
Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export feature. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more