Film and Media Studies
- Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]
The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
An electronic version of the classic Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by The H. W. Wilson Company, is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Related: The print version of the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-present) is located in the Humanities/Social Sciences Department in Shields Library, AI3.R4
- MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
Related: Instructions on downloading filters and importing citations using EndnoteMLA Directory of PeriodicalsQuick Reference Card
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO)
Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); over 300 philosophy titles are included. It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.
Related: To search only the full text digitized content of this resource (1802-1995), you can also use Periodicals Archive Online
- Art Full Text [via EBSCO]
ART FULL TEXT is being REPLACED by ART SOURCE which contains all records from Art Full Text and Art Index in addition to significant new content.
- Black Studies Center [via Proquest]
Black Studies Center brings together historical and current material for research projects on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black Periodicals, and Newspapers, including the full text backfile of the Afro-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.
Related: A fuller description of the Black Studies Center's scopeHelp with Black Studies Center
- Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
An online citation index to over 60,000 historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror, developed by Hal W. Hall. This index is a useful supplement to the MLA International Bibliography, since it includes both scholarly and fan writing. Does not include book review coverage.
Related: For print volume access to the index for years 1878-1995, see Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, PN3433.S2
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index [via Web of Knowledge]
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.