- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text [via EBSCO]
This database features 160 full-text journals; more than 160 full-text books. Indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals; selected coverage of nearly 290 journals; Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914; more than 37,400 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
- Film Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover; 200 others selectively for articles on film and television. The freely available online version covers 1976-2001 only, while the print version covers the early 1970s and years after 2001.
Related: Print edition with current issues available in Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, PN1993.F484.
This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.
The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
- Film Indexes Online [via Proquest]
The Film Indexes Online portal allows for cross-searching of the AFI Catalog and the Film International Index databases. Combined, these two databases search for cast, character, director, and keyword information for thousands of films.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive [via ProQuest]
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Coverage: 1880 - 2000
- AFI Catalog [via Proquest]
The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog is the most authoritative resource of American film information for the years 1893 - 1971, including summaries, technical and cast information, and bibliographies.
Related: The print version of the AFI Catalog for the years 1911-1950; 1961-1970 is available in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, call number PN1998.A52 (Library Use Only)
- Film Index International
Provides indexing of 115,000 films and biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. FII also includes brief bibliographies and coverage of international film awards, as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
- IIPA Full Text: International Index to the Performing Arts [via Proquest]
IIPA Full Text draws content from more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. The database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Full text contents are selective.
ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of hundreds of thousands of digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.
For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN or the Proxy Server.
- Communication Abstracts [via EBSCO]
Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.
Related: Communication Abstracts
HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
Print edition of Communication Abstracts.
- Music & Performing Arts Online [via Proquest]
The Music & Performing Arts Online portal brings the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. Together, these databases offer coverage of music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.
- Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content, the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared, similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.