Venice. Old Lion from St. Mark's
This is the "Historical Newspapers" page of the "HISTORY" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

HISTORY  

Image Credit: Venice. Old Lion from St. Mark's by Cornell University Library, on Flickr
Last Updated: Jan 11, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/HISTORY Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Newspapers Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

United States Historical Newspapers

Great Britain and Europe Historical Newspapers

  • 17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers  Icon
    The digital Burney Collection provides full text access to almost 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English and British colonial news media that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".
  • Times of London Digital Archive [via Gale]  Icon
    Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2008.

    The "Access World News" database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.
  • Pravda Digital Archive 1912-2009 [via East View]  Icon
    "Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation."
    Coverage: 1912-2009
  • Historic Italian and European Journals and newspapers online
    Author: Biblioteca di Filosofia e Storia dell’Università di Pisa
    BANCHE DATI DI PERIODICI DISPONIBILI ON LINE--This is an Italian language list of and links to (mostly)European journal and newspaper collections digitized by libraries and other institutions. It is especially useful for Italian publications.
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996  Icon
    The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency which monitors and translates current news and commentary from foreign political speeches, radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, and periodicals. These translations, or transcriptions in the case of English language materials, make up the Daily Reports; dates are 1941-1996. The UCD subscription includes Part 1: Middle East, Africa, Near East and South Asia (MEA, NES); Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa & South Asia (SSA, SAF, AFR, SAS); Part 3: China (CHI); Part 4: Asia, Pacific and East Asia (APA, EAS); Part 5: Latin America (LAT, LAM); Part 6: Eastern Europe (EEU); Part 7: Soviet Union and Central Eurasia (SOV); Part 8: Western European regional broadcasts; FBIS annexes are excluded.

Africa, Asia, South America Historical Newspapers

  • Latin American Newspapers [via Newsbank]  Icon
    The database includes the full-text content from 24 historic and influential newspapers published in Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Argentina and other Latin American countries. Publication dates range from 1845 to 1922.
    Help instructions
  • South Asian Newspapers [via Readex]  Icon
    Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive [via Readex]  Icon
    Full text of sixty-nine historic newspapers from different African cities. Coverage differs per title. Dates range and represents 1800-1920s. This selection is a subsection of Readex's World Newspaper archive. See link below.
    Coverage: 1800-1920s
  • Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996  Icon
    The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency which monitors and translates current news and commentary from foreign political speeches, radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, and periodicals. These translations, or transcriptions in the case of English language materials, make up the Daily Reports; dates are 1941-1996. The UCD subscription includes Part 1: Middle East, Africa, Near East and South Asia (MEA, NES); Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa & South Asia (SSA, SAF, AFR, SAS); Part 3: China (CHI); Part 4: Asia, Pacific and East Asia (APA, EAS); Part 5: Latin America (LAT, LAM); Part 6: Eastern Europe (EEU); Part 7: Soviet Union and Central Eurasia (SOV); Part 8: Western European regional broadcasts; FBIS annexes are excluded.

HOW TO REACH ME

Profile Image
Daniel Goldstein
Contact Info
email: dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu
phone: (530) 752-2040
Office: 2nd floor Shields Library

PLEASE GET IN TOUCH
if you have a question or to make an appointment.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip