- Early Encounters in North America (EENA): Peoples, Cultures and the Environment [via Alexander Street Press]
EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from "The Birds of America" as well as the complete contents of the three-volume "The Quadrupeds of North America".
Coverage: 1534-1959 For help using this database
- Empire Online [via Adam Matthew]
Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
Coverage: 1492-present For help using this database
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online [via Gale]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- Early American Newspapers [via NewsBank]
Historic American newspapers from 1690-1900, parts 1 & 2: images and full-text content, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society and from the collections of other institutions and societies.
Note: These parts can be searched separately using the following URLs. For Part 1: http://uclibs.org/PID/42513 For Part 2: http://uclibs.org/PID/275700
- Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800) [via Accessible Archives]
Searchable, full-text of the most important colonial and early national newspaper.
- Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) [via Accessible Archives]
"The Virginia Gazette was the first newspaper published in Virginia and the first to be published in the area south of the Potomac River in the colonial period of the United States. Issues have the following subtitle: “Containing the freshest advices, foreign and domestick”
Between 1776 and 1780 there were often two and sometimes three competing papers with the same name publishing simultaneously. All available copies are included here with the competitors described as Virginia Gazette 2 and 3.
- America's Historical Imprints [via Readex]
This is a full-text collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides and periodicals published between 1639-1819. It combines two collections: "Early American Imprints Series I (1639-1800). Evans" and "Early American Imprints Series II (1801-1819). Shaw-Shoemaker".
- Sabin Americana: 1500-1926 [via Gale]
"Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere."
- American Founding Era [via University of Virginia Press]
The American Founding Era collection includes the edited papers of key early figures in the history of the United States, including: John Adams and his family; Alexander Hamilton, Andrew Jackson,John Jay,Thomas Jefferson, Dolley Madison, James Madison, John Marshall,Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry, and George Washington. It also includes a documentary history of the ratification of the U.S. Constitution, People of the Founding Era (a biographical dictionary) and more.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set [via NewsBank]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set [via NewsBank]
The Readex/Newsbank U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980) has full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century). The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is the bound, sequentially numbered set of volumes of all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Many early agency reports were published originally in congressional editions. The Serial Set constitutes an incomparably rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history and government.
Coverage: 1817-1980, with American State Papers 1789-1838
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery a Transnational Archive [via Gale]
UCDavis subscribes to part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, and part III: The Institution of Slavery of this resource. These components of Slavery and Anti-Slavery include collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the legal and economic aspects of the slavery system from the sixteenth through the nineteenth centuries.
- African American Newspaper Collection [via Accessible Archives]
African American Newspaper Collection [via Accessible Archives]
Full-text of seven 19th Century African American Newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder. Coverage varies by newspaper.
- 19th Century US Newspapers [via Gale]
19th Century US Newspapers (NCNP) provides access to over 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history,Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 1
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 2
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 3
- Proquest Historical Newspaper Indexes
- Sacramento Bee, Historical [via NewsBank]
Full-text of the Sacramento Bee newspaper from 1857-1979. In time, coverage will be complete to 1984 where the current online edition begins.
- Global Missions and Theology [via Gale, Archives Unbound]
This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches. It contains valuable primary source materials on the places the missionaries worked, including Africa, Fiji and Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan, and Hawaii.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals [via Adam Matthew]
This is a full-text collection of the publications of the British philanthropic institutions, the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society from 1804-2009."Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter." The CMS was active in many African countries, the "Mediterranean, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas"
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries [via Alexander Street Press]
Includes the full text of diaries and letters of more than 100 women from the 18th and 19th centuries, with biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography on women's narratives.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries [via Alexander Street Press]
A full text collection of letters and diaries by hundreds of participants and witnesses to the Civil War. Includes biographies, bibliographies and a day-by-day record of events, all accessible via a detailed search engine.
- American Periodicals Series Online [via Proquest]
American Periodicals Series Online [via Proquest]
Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition [via Cambridge University Press]
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) was culled from more than 1,000 sources to produce nearly 2,000 tables containing some 37,000 time series covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: agriculture, population, the economy, government, welfare and work. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a scholar in the field. Tables can be downloaded and viewed, as well as graphed and merged into custom tables.
The 5-volume print edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is available in Shields Library Gov Info Reference and H/SS Reference (HA202 .H57) and the Agricultural and Resource Economics Library (HA202 .H57 2006)
- Historical Census Browser
This site allows users to examine, manipulate and map data from the U.S. Censuses from 1790-1960. It is a powerful and easy-to-use resource produced by the Geospatial and Statistical Data Center at the University of Virginia Library
- March of Time [via Alexander Street Press]
From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.
Coverage: 1903 - 1967
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 34 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.
- LATIN AMERICA, SPECIFICALLY
- Latin American Newspapers [via Newsbank]
The database includes the full-text content from 24 historic and influential newspapers published in Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Argentina and other Latin American countries. Publication dates range from 1845 to 1922. Help instructions
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean [via Gale]
This multidisciplinary resource brings together primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. Digitized content of academic journals and news feeds, reference articles and commentary, manuscripts, ephemera, maps and statistics, and multimedia support research on regional topics ranging from the colonial period to the 20th century.
Coverage: 15th - 20th centuries
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 [via Adam Matthew]
This full-text collection comprises "the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices" of Great Britain pertaining to Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean from 1833-1969. The documents range "from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties" and cover a vast array of topics.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 [via Ebsco]
Author: Arte Público Press
The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 (BETA) presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture published and digitized by Arte Público Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., covering geographically the fifty states of the Union. The premier collection documents intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times. Currently, the collections comprises approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.
Coverage: 19th Century - 20th Century