- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange [part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online via Gale] [Restricted]
This full-text primary source collection includes materials on the international relations between Asian countries and the United States and Britain during the 19th century. It contains government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more. Documents are sourced from The National Archives, Kew; The National Archives, United States; and other collections.
Most of the collection focuses on China and Japan, but significant material addresses Siam, Korea, the Philippines, Sumatra and Vietnam as well.
NOTE: The link takes you to a gateway site. Select this collection from the options at that site.
- Chinese Pamphlets: Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China [via CRL]
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters. Mostly in Chinese, but SOME PAMPHLETS ARE TRANSLATED INTO ENGLISH.
- March of Time [via Alexander Street Press]
From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.
Coverage: 1903 - 1967
- China, America and the Pacific [via Adam Matthew]
A full-text collection containing "an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. [It includes] Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps"
- Medieval Travel Writing [via Adam Matthew]
"Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land." Documents "are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details."
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals [via Adam Matthew]
This is a full-text collection of the publications of the British philanthropic institutions, the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society from 1804-2009."Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter." The CMS was active in many African countries, the "Mediterranean, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas"