- European Historical Bibliographies
This site collects information on 15 separate national historical bibliography projects. It provides brief descriptions of and links to the individual projects. Some of the bibliographies are published on paper, others are available on the Web, either for free or by subscription.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters [CD-ROM]
An encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (in German).
Location: Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, Workstation "BERLIN"
- Europeana: Europe's Digital Library
Direct access to several million digital objects: film,photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books,newspapers and archival papers.Selected from already digitized resources available in Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. French and German cultural institutions are particularly well-represented.
- Library of Humanistic Texts
This is a full-text collection of critical editions (frequently with translations) of a large number of 16th and 17th century texts. It is created and maintained by Dana F. Sutton, University of California, Irvine.
- e-codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
A full-text collection of Medieval Manuscripts. "At the moment, the virtual library contains 333 manuscripts from 16 different libraries. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended."
- Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH)
Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE. In German.
Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.
- 1789-1939 L'Histoire par L'Image
This growing collection of historical images from France is a collaborative project of several academic and cultural institutions and the French government. The images are carefully selected and fully described.
- World War I Document Archive
This site includes the full text of dozens of World War One-related documets. These include treaties, speeches and diaries. There are also extensive collections of texts pertaining to the War at Sea and to World War 1 medicine.
- Genealogy Indexer
"Search 307,000 pages of historical directories (business, address, telephone, etc., primarily from Central and Eastern Europe), 28,000 pages of 64 yizkor books (memorials to Jewish communities destroyed during the Holocaust), 32,000 pages of Polish and Russian military documents (lists of officers, casualties, etc.), 35,000 pages of community and personal histories, and 13,000 pages of Polish secondary school annual reports and other school sources. More genealogical resources are being added"
- Oral Histories: Wisconsin Survivors of the Holocaust
"Wisconsin Historical Society archivists interviewed 22 Holocaust survivors and two American witnesses between 1974 and 1981. These oral histories are now available digitally and in their entirety for the first time, uncensored and unfiltered."
- Historic Italian and European Journals and newspapers online
Author: Biblioteca di Filosofia e Storia dell’Università di Pisa
BANCHE DATI DI PERIODICI DISPONIBILI ON LINE--This is an Italian language list of and links to (mostly)European journal and newspaper collections digitized by libraries and other institutions. It is especially useful for Italian publications.
- Travels in Southeastern Europe [via UMDL]
This is a full-text collection in several languages of 137 titles "that describe southeastern Europe, and in particular, Bosnia and Hercegovina, throughout history." Almost all the titles were originally published in the Nineteenth and Twentieth centuries.
- Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (beta) [via Harvard University]
"The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. A work in progress with no claim to definitiveness. . ."
- Mapping Gothic France
This innovative site seeks to “provide the user. . .with new ways to understand the relationship of hundreds of buildings conditionally described as ‘Gothic’. . .within a defined period of time and space that corresponds to the advent of the nation of France.” It “seeks to establish linkages between the architectural space of individual buildings, geo-political space, and the social space resulting from the interaction (collaboration and conflict) between multiple agents—builders and users.”
- Interactive Album of Mediaeval Palaeography
The Album Interactif de Paléographie Médiévale/Interactive Album of Mediaeval Palaeography is an interactive site to practice reading and transcribing Mediaeval Latin and Old French. It is a project of the CIHAM (Centre Interuniversitaire d'Histoire et d'Archéologie Médiévales)in Lyon, France.