- Dictionary of National Biography [via Oxford University Press]
"The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of [nearly 60,000] men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors." It also has over 500 theme articles.
The DNB is licensed for a limited number of simultaneous users. Please log out when you are do so others can get in.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) [via ProQuest]
Indexes citations and provides linked page images of works represented in the microfilm series Early English Books I and II, based on The Short-Title Catalogue (Pollard and Redgrave, 1475-1640); the Short-Title Catalog II (Wing, 1641-1700), The Thomson Tracts (1640-1661), and The Early English Books Tracts Supplements
- UK Statutes of the Realm [via CD-ROM]
The UK Statutes of the Realm is a searchable full-text database containing all Acts of Parliament for England, Wales and Scotland from 1235 (the Magna Carta) to 2004.
Location: Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, Computer Station "Delhi"
- 17th - 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The digital Burney Collection provides full text access to almost 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English and British colonial news media that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press".
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online [via Gale]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) provides full-text searchable access to the digital images of 150,000 books and other materials published during the 18th Century. Based on the English Short Title Catalog bibliography, it includes English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
- British Periodicals Part 1 [via ProQuest]
"This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for more than 160 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries."
- Times of London Digital Archive [via Gale]
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2008.
The "Access World News" database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.
- Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2010 [via Gale]
"The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. "
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2009 [via Gale]
"The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. . . Since 1902, the TLS has scrutinized, applauded and dissected the work of leading writers and thinkers, offering comprehensive coverage of the most important publications, in every subject, in several languages, as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions."
- British Politics and Society [part 1 of Nineteenth Century Collections Online via Gale]
This extensive full-text collection of primary source material focuses on the political and social climate of Great Britain during the long Nineteenth Century. The materials are drawn from more than 20 different sources including: Government documents, papers and correspondence of political figures, Radical and Labour periodicals, pamphlet collections and more.
NOTE: The link takes you to a gateway page. Select the British Politics and Society option before you begin your search.
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers--19th and 20th Centuries Century [via ProQuest]
"The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world." This database offers the searchable full text of all House of Commons Sessional Papers from 1801-2003/04 combined with an extensive subject index to the papers. (HCPP)Includes all the "sessional papers" of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics.
It also includes the full text from "Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament," from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.
- Empire Online [via Adam Matthew]
Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.
Coverage: 1492-present For help using this database
- Colonial State Papers [viaProQuest]
"Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Also included is a digitised version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents."