- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research - IPOLL
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
Producer: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Access: Search Roper's Remote iPoll Databank, Search Roper's Remote Online Catalog of Studies
Roper is licensed for UCD by the Social Science Data Center (formerly IGA Library & Data Archive) and is licensed for campus access. In some cases, access is restricted to UC Davis faculty, staff, and students with valid university computing accounts (UC Davis user id / Kerberos password). In other cases, access is restricted to the campus network. Data are made available with the understanding that they are to be used for not-for-profit academic research only and are not to be copied or otherwise made available to any third party. All data used for research should be given an appropriate citation in any resulting published work.
Polling Report provides selected questions and summaries of responses taken from U.S. nationwide polls conducted by major pollsters, including Gallup, Harris, CNN/USA Today, Fox News, and others.
UCD does not subscribe, however, there is freely available data on PollingReport.com
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR provides member colleges and universities with access to an extensive data archive. Search their data holdings by keyword or browse by thematic categories.
Access is provided by UCD's Social Sciences Data Service.
- Field Poll
The Field Poll was established in 1947 as The California Poll by Mervin Field and has operated continuously as an independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. Each year the poll covers a wide range of political and social topics examining California public opinion. Institute for Governmental Studies Library has data sets available for download.
The Field Poll license is managed by the Social Science Data Center.
Shields Library JK8701 C35
Latest in Current Periodicals
- Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
Pew Research Center for the People and the PressPew Hispanic CenterPew Global Attitudes Project
- Public Policy Institute of California - Surveys
Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank. It is dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research. PPIC Statewide Survey and policy publications are available.
- Harris Poll Interactive - Harris Vault
This site provides access to the well-known Harris polls on its homepage back to 1998. Users can search the
site by keyword or date. Results are mostly presented in the form of news releases, analysis articles, and individual questions with responses.
UCD does not subscribe but there is free data.
Gallup web site has current public opinion news. UCD does not subscribe but there is some free info on the site.
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HN90 P8 G3
Annual print compilation of Gallup Polls going back to 1935.
- American National Election Studies
ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
- Real Clear Politics Polls
Part of the RealClearPolitics website which covers news, politcal opinion and commentary, and the political issues of the day.
- Huffington Post Pollster