See longer list of Statistics and Data links on the Statistics and Data Resources guide.
- American Factfinder
Factfinder is the place to find census data.
- American National Election Studies
To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
As a priority Open Government Initiative for President Obama's administration, Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.
- Historical Statistics of the United States, Earliest Times to the Present, Millennial Edition [via Cambridge University Press]
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) was culled from more than 1,000 sources to produce nearly 2,000 tables containing some 37,000 time series covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: agriculture, population, the economy, government, welfare and work. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a scholar in the field. Tables can be downloaded and viewed, as well as graphed and merged into custom tables.
The 5-volume print edition of Historical Statistics of the United States is available in Shields Library Gov Info Reference and H/SS Reference (HA202 .H57) and the Agricultural and Resource Economics Library (HA202 .H57 2006)
- ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data. This site links to training and curricular material, and a database which provides access to publications based on ICPSR data holdings (see More Info.)
Related: Database of publications based on ICPSR data holdings
More information on ICPSR and other social science data are available from the Social Science Data Service
- OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters.
Coverage: 1998-present, plus retrospective statistical data
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
The OFFSTATS database provides access to free statistics from official sources on the web. Produced by the University of Auckland.
- Proquest Statistical Insight
Index and abstract to government statistics helps to locate data. Provides quick statistical tables and also indexes a large number of statistics from federal government, international and state sources. Search by topic. Includes the Statistical Abstract Online.
- RAND State Statistics
Contains data in the following categories: Business and economics; Community; Education; Energy and environment; Government finance; Health and socioeconomic; and: Population and demographics for California. Emphasis in on California data but data for other states are available for state level geography. (Also Rand California)
Statista is a statistics portal that provides data on many different topics from more than 18,000 different sources. Topics include agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Sources are government agencies and business sources. The focus on current (not historical) statistics.
Data are downloadable in Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [pre-2013]
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [Proquest Online Edition]
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. The government-published Statistical Abstract of the U.S. was discontinued following publication of the 2012 edition.
Comprehensive database which includes most major statistical resources of international statistics from the United Nations.
- United States Bureau of the Census
This U.S. Census Bureau site is the entry point to the 2000 Census data as well as more current American Community survey data, economic statistics, and geographic and map products. It includes links to the "American FactFinder and to "Quick Facts" summary profiles for places, counties, and states.
Coverage: Links to the Decennial Supplementary Surveys, the 1990 census, and selected historical data from 1790-1990.
Related: See also American Factfinder.
- World DataBank
World Bank Statistical databases.