See the United States Government Information Guide for more resources to government documents and related resources.
U.S. Government Resources:
- Catalog of Government Publications
Catalog of federal government publications from GPO. Catalog of Government Publications (CGP) contains records for U.S. government publications from 1976 to the present and includes links to online full text publications when available. Older records are slowly being added. Records for the U.S. government publications from 1976 to present are also included in the UC Davis Harvest Library Catalog or Melvyl catalogs with call no. for the UC Davis collection.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 34 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.
- FDsys [GPO]
FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on FDsys. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941-1996
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency which monitors and translates current news and commentary from foreign political speeches, radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, and periodicals. These translations, or transcriptions in the case of English language materials, make up the Daily Reports; dates are 1941-1996. The UCD subscription includes Part 1: Middle East, Africa, Near East and South Asia (MEA, NES); Part 2: Sub-Saharan Africa & South Asia (SSA, SAF, AFR, SAS); Part 3: China (CHI); Part 4: Asia, Pacific and East Asia (APA, EAS); Part 5: Latin America (LAT, LAM); Part 6: Eastern Europe (EEU); Part 7: Soviet Union and Central Eurasia (SOV); Part 8: Western European regional broadcasts; FBIS annexes are excluded.
- Proquest Congressional (formerly LexisNexis Congressional)
Provides detailed indexing from 1789 forwards for publications of Congress: documents, reports, hearings, unpublished hearing transcripts, laws and regulations, plus legislative histories and information on members of Congress. Proquest Congressional also includes the digital U.S. Congressional hearings collection from 1824-1979. Full text for congressional committee documents and reports is included from 1990 to current.
Thomas, from the Library of Congress, is a legislative information database. Search bill text by word/phrase or bill number for for current congress and previous congresses from 1989 through current. Find bill summary and status from 1973 through current congress. Congressional Record 1989 to present. Roll Call Votes 1989 to present. Public Laws 1974 to present.
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set [via NewsBank]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set [via NewsBank]
The Readex/Newsbank U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980) has full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century). The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is the bound, sequentially numbered set of volumes of all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Many early agency reports were published originally in congressional editions. The Serial Set constitutes an incomparably rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history and government.
Coverage: 1817-1980, with American State Papers 1789-1838
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online
U.S. Declassified Documents Online is the most comprehensive compilation of declassified documents from the executive branch. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports. The collection editors have actively monitored the release of formerly classified documents from presidential libraries. They have also added numerous major releases of declassified documents from the Department of State, Department of Defense, Central Intelligence Agency, Federal Bureau of Investigation, Joint Chiefs of Staff, and other executive agencies.
U.S. Government and Congressional Directories:
- Biographical Directory of the American Congress, 1774 to present
Congress.gov has legislation (2001 - present), member profiles (2001 - present), Congressional Record (2001 - present). This is a functional beta version; plans are for it to include all of the content of Thomas from the Library of Congress.
- Congressional Directory
Also in print in the library.
- CQ Electronic Library
Online reference materials for the study of Congress, includes the CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher and more. CQ's Politics in America
has information about members of congress and their districts.
- House of Representatives Web site
- National Journal's Almanac of American Politics
Profiles members of congress. Almanac of American Politics
also in print: Latest Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference JK271 .A5
- Politics in America (CQ)
CQ's Politics in America is a source for information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts. Member profiles include: Biographical data, committee assignments, election results, CQ Key Votes, interest group ratings, CQ Vote Studies, and contact information; Detailed descriptions of each member's congressional district as drawn for that term of Congress, including updated maps and voting trends
- Senate Web site
- U.S. Government Manual
The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This currently updated edition of the Government Manual provides comprehensive and authoritative information on the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees. See also the 2012 pdf version: U.S. Government Manual (GPO)
- Washington Information Directory
CQ directory of Washington DC contacts in government agencies and selected non-government organizations.
- Parline Database on National Parliaments
The PARLINE database contains information on the structure and working methods of 267 parliamentary chambers in all of the 189 countries where a national legislature exists.
- EURLEX: Access to European Union Law
Provides access to the Official Journal, treaties, international agreements, legislation in force, preparatory acts, case-law, and parliamentary questions.
- World Constitutions Illustrated
From Heinonline. Includes the current constitution of every country in the world in its original language and at least one English translation.