This is the "Articles" page of the "UWP 1 (Elizabeth Crachiolo)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

UWP 1 (Elizabeth Crachiolo)  

Last Updated: Jul 6, 2015 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/uwp1crachiolo Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is Scholarly?

Tips for Database Searching

1. Limits: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date, language and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized - many databases sort by date (most recent articles appear first) rather than relevance

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic

4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search

      

    Newspaper & Magazine Articles

    Use the resources listed below to search for articles.

    If you are off campus, make sure you log into the VPN first!

    • CQ Researcher  Icon
      Includes topical reports on issues impacting U.S. politics and society.
    • Access World News  Icon
      Articles from California news sources, as well as U.S. and international newspapers.
    • Masterfile Premier  Icon
      Search over 2,600 magazines covering topics in the general sciences, technology and health, consumer interests, cultural diversity and education.

    Scholarly Article Citations

    Use the databases listed below to search for article citations and fulltext articles from scholarly journals.

    If you are off campus, make sure you log into the VPN first!

    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
    • JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive  Icon
      Search the back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. (Current issues are now included for some titles.)
    • PsycINFO  Icon
      Includes citations of scholarly journal articles, book chapters and books in the fields of psychology and related disciplines.
    • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
      Includes citations to articles published in the disciplines of sociology and the behavioral sciences.
    • Web of Science  Icon
      Search for article citations from journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities
    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip