This is the "Articles & Article Databases" page of the "SOC 155 - Sociology of Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

SOC 155 - Sociology of Law  

Instructor: Monica Williams
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/soc155-sociology-law Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles & Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Connect From Off-Campus

Use the VPN or the proxy server to access the library’s databases and online journals from off campus.

Tips for Database Searching

1. Most databases allow you to limit your search by criteria such as date, language and publication type (e.g. peer reviewed journals)

2. Note how your search results are sorted. Many databases sort by date, with the most recently published articles appearing first

3. Click on any article citation for additional details, including the Abstract and Subject Terms

4. If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

5. If you are not satisfied with your results, try a different combination of search terms, or select another database to search

      
     

    Sociology Databases

    The following databases are suggested for finding scholarly and other articles in journals in sociology and related disciplines.  The databases will also include citations to books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and other materials.

    To find an article from the index, look for the yellow UC-eLinks button and click on it. 

    UC-eLinks will perform a search and link to the full electronic text of articles in journals that the library subscribes to via databases or publisher web sites.  The UC-eLinks menu will present options to "Get it Online From", or if not available online, to "Find a copy in the library"The Find a copy in the library menu option will perform a search in the Harvest catalog, or if not at UC Davis, then search the Melvyl catalog for all UC libraries. 

    UC-eLinks will also provide options to "Request It" to get a copy from another library, "Add Citation to a Bibliography" or "Get Help".

    For more on using UC-eLinks, see the Getting Started with UC-eLinks guide.



    Article Databases

    • Sociological Abstracts  Icon
      Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
    • Social Science Citation Index (via web of knowledge)  Icon
      The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
    • Academic Search Complete  Icon
      This is a multidisciplinary database, easy to use, with links to many full text articles.
     

    Finding Journal Articles

    This section shows how to interpret a citation to find the article in a journal.

    Example of a typical citation for a journal article:

    Quillian, L, Pager, D 2001 "Black neighbors, higher crime? The role of racial stereotypes in evaluations of neighborhood crime" American Journal of Sociology 107 3 717-767


    To find an article easily, it is important to understand the information provided in a citation.  Below, I use the citation above to show what information each part of the citation is giving you:

    author:  Quillian, L & Pager, D

    title:      Black neighbors, higher crime?  The role of racial stereotypes in evaluations of neighborhood crime

    journal:  American Journal of Sociology

    volume: 107

    issue:   3

    pages:  717-767

    To find the journal article from the citation search first for the journal title.

    You can also use the citation linker to find and link to a known journal article when you have a complete citation:  http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local/cgi/core/citation-linker.cgi

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip