This guide highlights information resources related to public health.
Links to licensed databases should work if you are on the UC Davis Network or logged onto the VPN.
- BIOSIS Previews
More than 21 million records in all life science areas, including journals, books, patents, and conference proceedings.
- Business Source Complete
Covers business scholarly journals from 1886 to present.
- CAB Abstracts
International coverage of journal and grey literature in the applied life sciences, including veterinary sciences and nutrition.
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes the journal and grey literature of nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health.
- Cochrane Collaboration
Database of systematic reviews of medical research.
- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
DARE contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed. DARE covers such diverse topics as diagnostic tests, public health, health promotion, pharmacology, surgery, psychology, and the organization and delivery of health care.
A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.
The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports. Coverage from 1966, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.
The Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University covers literature about ethical issues in medicine and biomedical research.
- Gideon: Global Infectious Diseases & Epidemiology Network
A global infectious disease knowledge management tool.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
For instructions about how to add UC-eLinks to the Google Scholar results list and export to EndNote, select the Information icon.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments indexes journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields and psychosocial sciences.
- LexisNexis Academic
One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.
- MEDLINE (Ovid)
Access to MEDLINE citations using OVID search interface.
- PAIS International
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents.
- PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
The Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (PILOTS) Database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events.
Provides citations to articles in professional journals, important internet sites, and grey literature in psychology and related disciplines.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Campbell Collaboration
Database of systematic reviews on education, crime and justice, and social welfare.
- Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
DoPHER is unique in its focussed coverage of systematic and non-systematic reviews of effectiveness in health promotion and public health worldwide.
- Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Project
This site focuses specifically on public health best evidence resources with an aim toward examining evidence-based medicine models and assessing their effectiveness to public health. Links are provided to the top 25 public health journals and to evidence-based resources in public health practice
- Guide to Clinical Preventive Services
The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services provides the latest available recommendations on preventive interventions: screening tests, counseling, immunizations, and medication regimens for more than 80 conditions. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
- Guide to Community Preventive Services, aka The Community Guide
Developed by an independent task force with support from the CDC and Department of Health and Human Services, the Community Guide provides summaries on the effectiveness of population-based interventions for prevention and control. Recommendations are based on a systematic review process.
- Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
The National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH), and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, have worked together to develop preformulated search strategies (structured evidence queries) that search PubMed to identify research evidence for specific Healthy People 2020 objectives in related to the Healthy People 2020 topic areas.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Prepared by the CDC and contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and as well as reports and surveillance summaries on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries.
- NACCHO Model Practices Database
Developed by the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), this is a searchable database of model practices of local health agencies across the U.S.
- National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Sponsored by the AHRQ, this Web site provides evidence-based clinical practice guidelines with recommendations, strategies and other information that assists healthcare providers in making appropriate healthcare decisions.
Billed as "the world's largest bibliographic database on population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE provides citations with abstracts for over 275,000 records representing published and unpublished literature in the field." Maintained by the Population Information Program at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development. Coverage: 1970 to present
- PubMed Health
PubMed Health contains systematic reviews and summaries of systematic reviews undertaken or updated in roughly the last ten years. PubMed Health goals are: helping users find the evidence that could answer their questions about effects of health care and helping them understand what they find.