e-Books in Library Catalog
Additional databases
This is the "Finding journal articles" page of the "Public Health " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Public Health   Tags: global health, mph, population health, public health  

This guide highlights information resources related to public health.
Last Updated: Oct 13, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/public_health Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Finding journal articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an article database?

You can use article databases to search for public health journal articles on a specific topic, across a number of journals at once.

Some databases will also include research instruments, conference papers, and other "grey" literature.

Databases (start here)

For best results access these resources from within the UC Davis Network or VPN.

  • EMBASE  
      
      Icon
    With over 22 million records, EMBASE is a international biomedical and pharmacological database that is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts.
  • Global Health  
      
      Icon
    Indexes foreign language journals, books, and grey literature about global health, including developing country information.
  • PubMed  
      
      Icon
    Includes over 20 million citations (MEDLINE) for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.
  • Scopus  
      
      Icon
    Scopus includes over 50 million citations to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patents and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.
  • Social Explorer - Premium Edition  
      
    Explore vital health factors such as access to health care, obesity, smoking, excessive drinking and others in nearly every county in United States. The presented data comes from the County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program (2010 - 2016). You can visualize, explore and compare World Development Indicators for almost every world country or switch to geographic region level for summarized preview. Data is available in decennial reports (1960-2013).
  • TOXNET
    From the NLM, databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
  • Web of Science  
      
      Icon
    Provides access to the multidisciplinary citation databases: Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.
 

Getting to PubMed with UC-eLinks to full-text articles

This short slide show is best viewed in full-screen mode.

Click screen to start.

Additional public health article databases

 

How do I get full-text?

Within your search results, The University Library provides links to full-text electronic holdings via UC-eLinks.

Not finding what you need?  Request it!

PubMed Special Queries

PubMed offers a number of specialized filters to help you get to relevant results.  You can access these options from the PubMed homepage, under PubMed Tools-->Topic-Specific Queries.  Here are a few examples:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip