This guide highlights information resources related to public health.
Hole in the Ozone Layer Over Antarctica by NASA (Great Images in NASA Description) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Many journal article databases and library catalogs contain grey literature. In addition, there are special databases for different types of grey literature, such as conference proceedings or dissertations. Explore:
- Additional databases
- Conference Papers Index
Provides citations to papers and poster sessions from major scientific meetings globally. Offers coverage of science and applied science disciplines, including environmental science and clinical medicine. Coverage 1982 to present.
- Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Coverage 1861 to present.
- Google Advanced Search
Use Google Expert Search techniques or Google Advanced Search to limit your Google search results. Click on the information button for more ideas.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. For instructions about how to add UC-eLinks to the Google Scholar results list and export to EndNote, select the Information icon.
Mednar is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced federated search technology to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines. Mednar then collates, ranks and drops duplicates of the results. Use Advanced Search to specify where to search (societies, government websites, etc.).
- The New York Academy of Medicine: Grey Literature Collection
The New York Academy of Medicine actively collects and catalogs the grey literature in public health and health policy.
- PapersFirst [via FirstSearch/OCLC]
Index of papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, expositions, workshops, and congresses as received by the British Library Document Supply Centre.
- Proceedings [via FirstSearch/OCLC]
An index of published conferences, symposia, congresses, meetings and expositions received by the British Library Document Supply Centre. Full record contains a list of the papers included in the proceedings. Use PapersFirst to search for papers.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD indexes over 1.5 million open access international graduate theses and dissertations from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
Grey literature includes government and non-government documents:
- clinical trials (unpublished results)
- conference proceedings
- market research reports
- technical reports
- statistical reports
- guidelines and position papers
- Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. Each Topic Area includes an overview, objectives and data, and evidence-based resources. A sub-set of Healthy People 2020 objectives, called Leading Health Indicators, has been selected to communicate high-priority health issues and actions that can be taken to address them.
- Institute of Medicine Reports
The goal of IOM reports is to provide objective and straightforward advice to decision makers and the public.
KaiserEDU.org is a health policy website of the private, non-profit Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, which is dedicated to health policy analysis and filling the need for trusted, independent information on the major health issues facing the US.
- Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
RWJF is dedicated to improving the American public's health and the health care system. They create leverage by building evidence and producing, synthesizing and distributing knowledge, new ideas, and expertise, often through creating partneships with key players.
- National Collaborating Center for Methods and Tools
The National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT) is one of six National Collaborating Centres for Public Health in Canada. The NCCMT provides leadership and expertise in sharing what works in public health. Their goal is to strengthen public health in Canada by using evidence to inform public health policy and practice.
- National Institutes of Health
This website serves as a portal to explore various public health-related institutes, including: National Cancer Institute, National Institute on Aging, National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute, and National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences.
- RAND Corporation
Provides research on a variety of public health related topics, including health and healthcare, population and aging, obesity, public safety, education, and children and families, to name just a few.
- RHIN: Refugee Health Information Network
The RHIN national partnership enables resettled refugees, asylees, their health care providers, and public health administrators to easily access information relevant to health conditions and health services.
- U.S. Centers for Disease Control
Covers a broad range of public health topics, including disease surveillance. environmental health, and disease surveillance.
- Disaster Lit: The Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
From the NLM, Disaster Lit: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents.
- World Health Organization
Provides statistics, journals and publications related to global public health and related programs.
- CADTH: A Practical Search Tool for Evidence Based Medicine
Produced by the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH), this grey literature checklist includes national and international health technology assessment web sites, drug and device regulatory agencies, clinical trial registries, health economics resources, Canadian health prevalence or incidence databases, and drug formulary web sites.