This is the "Spectra" page of the "Chemistry Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Chemistry Subject Guide  

Library resources for the field of chemistry
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/chem Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Spectra Print Page
  Search: 
 

Spectra: Print, Online, and via databases

Print Spectra

PSE Library has a large collection of print spectra. Frequently used titles are listed below, additional titles are available as well (browse the PSE reference shelves in the call number range QC437.A29 through QD421.H68 or search the Library catalog).

Aldrich Spectra
 
An easy to use collection of over 60,000 spectra.
Location: PSE Reference Area (1st Floor)

Indexes: are located in the back of each multi-volume set.
Aldrich Library of 13 C and 1 H FT NMR spectra QD96 F68 P67 1993 3 volumes
Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra QD96 I5 D45 1986 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra QD96 I5 P66 1985 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of Infrared spectra QD96 I5 P67 1981 1 volume
Aldrich Library of NMR spectra QD96 N8 P68 1983 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of NMR spectra QC762 P68 11 volumes
Sadtler Spectra
 
A very large collection of over 200,000 spectra.
Location: PSE Reference Area (1st Floor)
Indexes: are separate volumes located on the Chemistry Reference Table (PSE 1st Floor)
Standard IR Grating Spectra QC457 S3 123 volumes
Ultra Violet Spectra QC459 S25 170 volumes
Standard Proton NMR Spectra QC762 S26 118 volumes
Carbon-13 NMR Spectra QC762 S28 210 volumes
Largest Sadtler Sets Are Listed Above.  Many smaller sets are available in the PSE Reference Area.


Online Spectra

Below are some freely available sites that provide a limited number of spectra online. See the print spectra listed above if the substance you are looking for is not available online.

NIST
The NIST database provides spectra and other information. Most compounds in the database are organic, a few small inorganic compounds are included as well. Spectra available may include: Gas Phase IR Spectra, Mass Spectra, UV/Vis Spectra, Vibrational and Electronic Spectra (tabular data only).
 
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
Provides spectra for 32,000 organic compounds. Up to 6 different types of spectra may be available: electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS - 22,900 spectra); Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR - 14,000 spectra); 1 H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum (12,300); 13 C NMR spectrum (49,800 spectra); laser Raman spectrum (3,500 spectra); and electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum (2,500 spectra).

Databases

The SciFinder and REAXYS databases can be used to locate references to spectra and/or spectral data in the chemical literature. SciFinder provides online access to some spectra, REAXYX provides literature references only.

REAXYS
The REAXYS database can be used to locate spectra. Ask at the PSE Reference Desk if you need help.
 
SciFinder Scholar     [Registration Required]      
One time registration is required to use SciFinder (available only to UC faculty, students, & staff).     
     [How to Register for SciFinder]
To find spectra in SciFinder:  Search for a chemical substance record, click the "Get References" button and limit to references associated with "Spectral Properties".
      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip