This is the "Endnote, Google, & UC-eLinks" page of the "Endnote: Getting Started" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Endnote: Getting Started  

Last Updated: Oct 12, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/endnote Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Endnote, Google, & UC-eLinks Print Page
  Search: 
 

Endnote: Database Instructions

See below for the specific instructions needed to export citation data from the various article databases. 

Windows Instructions 
     (aka Filters & Connection Files)

Macintosh Instructions
     (aka Filters & Connection Files)

      

    Endnote Help

    Endnote Help:

    Endnote Online User Guides
        
    (for both Windows & Mac)
          Endnote X7
          Endnote X6


    Endnote Training
       -
    videos, PDFs,
       -online classes taught by Endnote


    Endnote Youtube Channel
       -short "how to" videos,
       -online class recordings (taught by Endnote
    )

        

      Endnote, Google, & UC-eLinks

      Endnote, Google, & UC-eLinks: Three things you should do

      Make the 3 changes below to take full advantage of: Endnote, Google Scholar, and UC-eLinks. 


      1.  Set Endnote as your Bibliography Manager in Google Scholar:  
            Allows you to export citations from Google Scholar to Endnote 
               (citations will be minimal, this is not your best option)

      1. Go to the Google Scholar home page at https://scholar.google.com/
      2. Click on the SETTINGS link.
      3. Click on SEARCH RESULTS (left side of screen).
      4. Under Bibliography Manager, select: “Show Links To Import Citations Into ENDNOTE”
      5. Click SAVE

      To import citations from Google Scholar into EndNote:
      1. Search on Google Scholar
      2. Click on the IMPORT INTO ENDNOTE link under the reference you want to import .
      3. In the next window that appears, select:  OPEN WITH  and select ENDNOTE  (navigate to it if necessary)
      4. Click OK.

       


      2.  Set Endnote's "Find Full Text" feature to use UC-eLinks:  
            Your best option for having Endnote find full text for you  

      Endnote includes a feature that attempts to find the full text (PDFs) for the references in your libraries:

      • IT DOES NOT FIND ALL PDF's 
      • If if does not work, it just does not work.  You have to add PDF's manually. 

       

      Follow the steps below to configure Endnote to use UC-eLinks to find full text:

      1.  Open EndNote.
      2.  On the top menu:
               PCs: Select:   Edit  | Preferences |  Find Full Text (tab)
           or Macs: Select: Endnote  |  Preferences |  Find Full Text
      3.  In the OpenURL Path text box, enter:  http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local
      4.  Check all 4 boxes.

      5.  Click OK.

       


      3.  Activate UC-eLinks in Google Scholar:  
            Allows you to use UC-eLinks to access journals UC Davis subscribes to
            Not necessary for Endnote - but improves your access to UC Davis online journals
               (because UC-eLinks manages the links for you)

      1. On the Google Scholar home page:  https://scholar.google.com/
      2. Click on the SETTINGS link.
      3. Click on LIBRARY LINKS (left side of screen).
      4. Enter “California” in the search box and select these options:
          --Universtiy of California, Davis – UC e-Links
          --Open WorldCat – Library Search
          --California Digital Library -  UC e-Links
      5. Click SAVE

       

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip