This is the "MLA" page of the "Citation Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Citation Guides  

Last Updated: Jan 18, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/citations Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

MLA Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About MLA

MLA citation style is most frequently used in the humanities (literature, languages, art). The MLA Handbook was first published by the Modern Language Association in 1951.

MLA style relies on parenthetical citations (author, page number) for material that is quoted, summarized or paraphrased in the text of a paper. The sources referenced in parenthetical citations are compiled at the end of the paper as a Works Cited list.

 

Style Manual

Consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers as the definitive source for MLA citation rules.

Cover Art
MLA Handbook (8th edition) - Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB2369 .G53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016
Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list.


See also: The MLA Style Center

Cover Art
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (7th edition) - Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference LB2369 .G53 2009 (Lib Use Only)
ISBN: 1603290249
A copy is available for regular loan: Shields Library LB2369 .G53 2009.

Recommended Guides

Visit these reputable websites for examples of MLA style citations:

Citation Generators

These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to MLA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the MLA Handbook!

  • Citation Builder
    Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.
  • KnightCite
    This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan.
  • NoodleTools Express
    This tool is useful if you only need to generate citations for a couple of sources.
  • Son of Citation Machine
    Select the type of source you are citing and complete the web form. For books, you can enter an ISBN to populate the form automatically.
 

Research Tip

Many of the library's subscription article databases will generate a formatted citation for you.

Be sure to look for Cite options in your database search results!

 

Ask a Librarian

In Person

By Appointment

Via Chat:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip