This is the "Articles" page of the "International Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

International Students  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/international Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Tips for Database Searching

1. Limits: To focus your search, utilize database features that allow you to specify criteria such as date, language and publication type, e.g. peer reviewed journals

2. Sort Order: Note how your search results are organized - many databases sort by date (most recent articles appear first) rather than relevance

3. Subject Terms: Pay attention to the subject terms because they can lead to other relevant articles on your topic

4. Get an Article: If the full article is not available, use uc-ellinks

5. Not Satisfied? If you are not finding relevant results about your topic, try different combinations of search terms, or select another database to search

      

    Databases

    The library subscribes to more than 800 databases. The products listed below include content in multiple languages, and may offer useful starting points for research. If you have additional questions about where or how to search for information, ask us!

    If you are off campus, make sure you use the VPN/ Pulse Secure Client. Instruction for connection from off campus can be found here

    • Access World News  Icon
      Search for articles from more than 1000 international newspapers, plus 1300 U.S news sources. For news sources in Spanish, search Acceda Noticias.
    • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)  
        
        Icon
      This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Use the Languages option at the top of the screen to change the display of the search interface. Or choose to view results from more than 40 languages using the Search Option: Language.
    • BIOSIS Previews  Icon
      Search for scholarly articles in the life sciences (including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology.) Searches must be in English, but you can use the Language indicator to view results in the language in which they were written.
    • Factiva  Icon
      Includes global news and business information. Use the Settings/Tools option to change the language of the search interface. Or select from among more than 25 languages using the Search Builder's Language limit.
    • Social Sciences Collection (ProQuest)  Icon
      Select from 18 individual databases or search them all at once. The ProQuest interface is searchable in 15+ languages. You can also use the Advanced Search option to view results from over 100 languages.
    • Web of Science  Icon
      Multi-disciplinary science database.
    • The Arts Collection (ProQuest)  Icon
      Select from 16 individual databases or search them all at once. The ProQuest interface is searchable in 15+ languages. You can also use the Advanced Search option to view results from over 100 languages.

    • Subject Guides
      Use the Subject Guides to identify additional databases to search.
    • Library Search
      The Everything tab in Library Search includes all materials found in the Library's catalog, plus hundreds of millions of online full-text journal articles available through the library. For most topics, you will find everything you need this way.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip