...Information on Databases
... Sample searches
This is the "... Sample searches" page of the "Alternatives Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Alternatives Searching  

A guide to support searching for alternatives in research and education
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/alternatives-searching Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

... Sample searches Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Proposed study example 1

Proposed study: Heart mechanics after resynchronisation & evaluation of heart efficiency

 Terms and ideas from proposed study, possible search terms, possible search questions

heart failure, heart attack, induce heart failure
dyssynchronous contraction, resynchronise, heart mechanics
pacemakers
adverse affects, efficacy, heart efficiency
animal model

Protocol proposed methods and procedures, additional terms/questions to be searched

purpose-bred dogs
venous cannula forelimb
anesthesia sodium thiopental, pentobarbital
continuous infusion of pentobarbital and morphine iv
intubation and respirator
urine catheter, ECG and pulse oximeter
sternotomy
pressure catheters aorta, left ventricle and atrium
ultrasonic crystals are implanted in various areas of the myocardium
constrictors vena cava and aorta and Swan-Ganz catheter pulmonary artery
pressure measurements heart chambers
monitoring includes measurement of blood gases, body temperature and anesthesia
euthanized under the anesthesia iv pentobarbital

Questions to be searched common to all protocols

is the proposed research necessary
what has already been done in this area
what models have been used
what best methods/procedures
alternative consideration for potential pain and distress

Database and question/search

Selecting databases dependent upon study and particular question being asked

PubMed

Search PubMed because this is a study proposing to use animals to learn about a human condition. For example, searching "resynchronization" revealed a MeSH term (Medical Subject Heading) CRT. Combining that term with "animals" and "dogs" allows identification of possible other animal models, retrieving similar studies using dogs. Searching particular drugs/procedures to identify adverse affects, and most recent literature on published standard procedures to verify making use of the latest information.

cardiac resynchronization therapy and animals
cardiac resynchronization therapy and dogs
cardiac pacing, artificial and cardiac resynchronization therapy and animals
myocardial ultrasonic crystals and dogs
cardiac surgical procedures and dogs (limit to Major MeSH)

Go3R

any of the PubMed searches

BIOSIS

resynchronisation and heart efficiency
resynchronisation and heart and models
pacemakers and (dyssynchronous or asynchronous)
pacemakers and animal models

CAB

dogs and cardiac surgery
(resynchron* or asynchron* or dyssynchron*) and cardiac

NORINA

cardiac

NIH Reporter

pacemakers
arrythymia dogs

GoogleScholar

Specific questions, for example: blood collecting techniques; anesthetic drug or dosage

Embase

ISI Web of Science

Alternatives and Welfare Websites

Specialized web based resources that may be useful for this proposed study:

AWIC
Blood Collection
Pain and Distress
Humane Endpoints & Euthanasia

Altweb
Pain and Distress
Refinement

NC3Rs
Information Portal
Blood Sampling Microsite
Cardiovascular Models Symposium

CCAC
3Rs Microsite

AVMA
Guidelines on Euthanasia


 

Proposed study example 2

Proposed study: Protective effect of medicinal plant polysaccharides against systemic Streptococcus pneumoniae infection in mice

Terms and ideas from proposed study, possible search terms, possible search questions

Streptococcus pneumoniae
plant sugars, glucans, pectins
in vitro studies - protect against infection, stimulate immune system
study mechanism in vivo
mice doses pectin, challenge with S. pneumoniae
no negative or toxic effects this group natural compounds.

Protocol proposed methods and procedures, additional terms/questions to be searched

mice intraperitoneal injections
challenge with Streptococcus pneumoniae serotype 6B
blood sampling drawn lateral femoral vein of each mouse
moribund euthanized cervical dislocation
pectic polysaccharides PMII from Plantago major
BP1002 from Biophytum petersianum
Oc50A1.I.A from Opilia celtidifolia
CC1P1 from Cola cordifolia and
Vk1a from Vernonia kotschyana
Lipo-polysaccharide (LPS) positive control
phosphate-buffered saline (PBS) as control
test substances dissolved in PBS

Questions to be searched common to all protocols:

is the proposed research necessary, redundant
what has already been done in this area
what models have been used
what best methods/procedures
alternative consideration for potential pain and distress

Database and question/search

Selecting databases dependent upon study and particular question being asked

PubMed

Streptococcus pneumoniae and (glucans or pectins)
Streptococcus pneumoniae and (glucans or pectins) and mice
challenge Streptococcus pneumoniae serotype 6B mice
Plantago major
Biophytum petersianum
Opilia celtidifolia
Cola cordifolia
Vernonia kotschyana
blood sampling techniques and mice
humane endpoints mice

Toxnet

PMII
Plantago major
Biophytum
Opilia celtidifolia
cordifolia
Vernonia kotschyana

GoogleScholar

blood sampling (techniques or methods) mice
humane endpoints mice

BIOSIS

medicinal plant polysaccharides
Streptococcus and (glucans or pectins)
Streptococcus and (Plantago or Biophytum or Opilia or Cola or Vernonia)

JAX

Mice and Services
Research and Resources

Embase

ISI Web of Science

NIH Reporter

Alternatives and Welfare Websites

Specialized web based resources that may be useful for this proposed study:

AWIC
Blood Collection
Pain and Distress
Humane Endpoints & Euthanasia

Altweb
Pain and Distress
Refinement

NC3Rs
Information Portal
Blood Sampling Microsite
Humane Endpoints References
Mouse Databases

CCAC
3Rs Microsite

NIH Office of Animal Care and Use
Guidelines for Survival Bleeding

AVMA
Guidelines on Euthanasia

 

Proposed study example 3

Proposed study: Pneumothorax model to study diagnosis using outside hospital handheld ultrasound and ultra wideband equipment

Terms and ideas from proposed study, possible search terms, possible search questions:

Pneumothorax, air between chest wall and lung
trauma, chest, abdomen, chest cavity, lung collapse
animal model of pneumothorax
handheld diagnostic equipment, Ultrasound (mechanical sound waves), Ultra Wideband

Protocol proposed methods and procedures, additional terms/questions to be searched

insertion of drain into pleural cavity to remove the air
diagnosis of pneumothorax at hospital with X-ray or computer tomography (CT)

Questions to be searched common to all protocols:

is the proposed research necessary
what has already been done in this area
what models have been used
what best methods/procedures
alternative consideration for potential pain and distress

Database and question/search

PubMed

animal model AND pneumothorax
(handheld OR portable) AND pneumothorax AND (ultrasound OR diagnosis)
"Pneumothorax/diagnosis"[Mesh] AND (portable OR handheld)
"Pneumothorax/therapy"[Mesh] AND model, animal

Compendex

pneumothorax
pneumothorax AND diagnosis
pneumothorax AND portable
diagnostic AND portable AND trauma
diagnostic AND (portable OR handheld) AND ultrasound

animal model AND pneumothorax
animal model AND trauma

BIOSIS

pneumothorax AND portable
pneumothorax AND animal model

ISI Web of Science
trauma AND diagnosis AND portable
diagnosis AND ultrasound AND portable

NIH Reporter

DTIC

Alternatives and Welfare Websites

Specialized web based resources that may be useful for this proposed study:

AWIC
Blood Collection
Pain and Distress

Altweb
Pain and Distress
Refinement

NC3Rs
Information Portal
Blood Sampling Microsite

CCAC
3Rs Microsite

AVMA
Guidelines on Euthanasia

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip