...Information on Databases
... Sample searches
This is the "Databases" page of the "Alternatives Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Alternatives Searching  

A guide to support searching for alternatives in research and education
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/alternatives-searching Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selecting Databases for 3Rs Searching

Database Selection Tips 

Select the databases according to the study and particular question being asked.

Databases vary by the type and number of records they contain, their dates of coverage, the formats of literature they consider (i.e., chapters, articles, proceedings), and the scope.

When searching for animal research alternatives, it is very important to look in more than one database. While your first instinct may be to look only in PubMed, there are a wide variety of other options that will usually give you different relevant results.

Most researchers choose to start with PubMed or another broadly inclusive biomedical reseach database (ie, Scopus, Embase, Biosis).
Your additional databases can be a second biomedical research database, or focus on a specific aspect of the protocol design, the animal model, the 3Rs, or other funded research

If there is a specific database relevant to the protocol topic or model, you should include it in your search.



Further Help

You are welcome to contact a health sciences librarian for assistance in selecting the most useful databases for your protocol.

 

Specialized Websites and Databases

Altweb
Site for news, information, discussion, and resources from the field of alternatives to animal testing
ANZCCART
Australian and New Zealand Council for the Care of Animals in Research and Teaching
Many useful resources including Fact Sheets, Newsletters, and publications.
AWIC
Animal Welfare Information Center
Site for information for improved animal care and use in research, teaching, and testing
CAAT
Center for Alternatives to Animal Testing. Johns Hopkins University
Global resources for the development of replacement, reduction and refinement alternatives for research and testing
CCAC 3Rs Mircrosite
Canadian Council on Animal Care - Replacement, Reduction and Refinement Alternatives
FRAME
Fund for the Replacement of Animals in Medical Experiments (UK)
Researching alternatives to animal use in research, testing, and education
Go3R
Database acts as a filter applied to a PubMed search, simplifying retrieval of journal articles related to both the research topic and the 3Rs.
IACUC.ORG
An information resource for members and staff of institutional animal care and use committees. It is a link archive, organized by menus and submenus, produced by the American Association for Laboratory Animal Science (AALAS).
ILAR
Institute for Laboratory Animal Research
Prepares authoritative reports on subjects of importance to the animal care and use community and serves as a clearinghouse for information about animal resources
JAX Mice Databases
Mouse Model Lists, Inbred Strains of Mice and Rats, Mouse Genome Database, and more.
Mouse Biology Program
UCDavis, provides links to internet resources and databases for transgenic and targeted mutation research
NC3Rs
UK-based National Centre for the Replacement, Refinement & Reduction of Animals in Research, Resources, Microsites, Hubs particularly useful.
NICEATM / ICCVAM
NTP Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods / Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods
NORINA
Norwegian Inventory of Alternatives. Norwegian Reference Centre for Laboratory Animal Science and Alternatives
Database of audiovisuals, computer programs, cd-roms, interactive videos, and other alternatives for use in the biological sciences
RePORTER
NIH Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools Expenditures & Results
Searchable database of federally funded biomedical research projects
3R Guide
Norecopa, in collaboration with the Animal Welfare Information Center has produced a database which provides an overview of guidelines, databases, journals, email lists, regulations and policies which may help researchers to implement the 3Rs when planning research that may involve animals.
3Rs Centre ULS
The 3Rs-Centre Utrecht Life Sciences (ULS) stimulates the development, acceptation and implementation of 3Rs methods (replacement, reduction and refinement of animal experiments). Two databases: the Interspecies Database (www.interspeciesinfo.com) and the Humane Endpoints website (www.humane-endpoints.info).
 

Bibliographic Databases

Agricola
             Citations to U.S. literature in the agriculture, life sciences, vet med
Aquatic Sciences Fisheries Abstracts
Citations to information on the science, technology, and management of marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms
BIOSIS
Citations for journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the life sciences and biology
CABI
Citations to international information on veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, agriculture, rural development and related topics
CINAHL
Multidisciplinary database covering nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and consumer health literature.
Compendex
Bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, journals and conferences.
EMBASE
Embase is a resource for discovering biomedical evidence within published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conference abstracts. Embase retrieves relevant abstracts from the biomedical literature based on deep, full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device information.
ERIC
Educational Resources Information Center. Provides extensive access to educational- related documents and journal articles
INSPEC
Citations for scholarly journals, conference proceedings, book reports and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology
PubMed
Citations and abstracts for articles published in journals in medicine, life science and health administration
PsycINFO
Citations and abstracts for articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines
SciFinder
This database provides the most accurate and comprehensive chemical and related scientific information.
Sociological Abstracts
Provides abstracts to the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines
TOXLINE
Citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, reports and dissertations in all areas of toxicology
Web of Science
Produced by Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Provides article and citation searching in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities
Zoological Record
Comprehensive coverage of zoology, including behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography
 

UC Davis Comprehensive Lists of Databases

 

Public Access Databases

AGRICOLA
Produced by the National Agricultural Library
ALTBIB
Bibliography on Alternatives to the Use of Live Vertebrates in Biomedical Research and Testing, National Library of Medicine
CRIS
Current Research Information Service; USDA's reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects conducted or sponsored by USDA research agencies, state agricultural experiment stations, the state land-grant university system, other cooperating state institutions, and participants in USDA-administered grant programs.
ECOTOX
Ecotoxicology Database for locating single chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants and wildlife; maintained by EPA.
DTIC
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the Department of Defense (DoD) community as the central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
PubMed
Produced by the National Library of Medicine
TOXNET
Produced by the National Library of Medicine. A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas
ZFIN
Zebrafish Model Organism Database of online information for zebrafish researchers.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip