Humanities & Social Sciences eBook Collections
There are many ebooks and ebook collections in the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences. This is a selected list showing only a sampling of collections available. For more information about specific collections or titles, consult the Subject Guides in individual disciplines, or contact the subject librarians.
- African Writers Series
This online edition includes over 250 volumes of fiction, poetry, drama and non-fictional prose.
- Berg Fashion Library
The Fashion Library includes full text books from Berg Publisher about fashion, clothing and textiles.
- British Women's Romantic Poets Project
The British Women Romantic Poet's Project is producing an online scholarly archive consisting of E-text editions of poetry by British and Irish women written (not necessarily published) between 1789 (the onset of the French Revolution) and 1832 (the passage of the Reform Act), a period traditionally known in English literary history as the Romantic period. This is a UCD digital collection.
- CQ Press Electronic Library
Suite of reference books from Congressional Quarterly Press (CQ), CQ Online features reference materials important for the study of Congress, and it's members, and includes the CQ Almanac, CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher and more. CQ's Politics in America has information about members of congress and their districts.
- Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800, Evans
This is a full-text collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals published in the United States 1639- 1800.
- Early American Imprints, Series II (1801-1819). Shaw-Shoemaker
This is a full-text collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States in the first decades of the 19th century.
- Early English Books Online - EEBO
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- Eighteenth Century Collections
Contains over 136,000 titles (155,000 volumes). Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works were published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Collection is primarily in English - also includes other languages.
This is a collection of books digitized by major US research libraries. Although there is significant overlap with Google books, this site has a much more effective and sophisticated search interface. Like Google books, some of the scanned titles that are under copyright are not actually viewable. The titles in this collection (both the full view and restricted ones)are cataloged in Melvyl.
- Literature Online
Literature Online (LION) is searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 350 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
- Making of America
Making of America is a digital library of 19th century primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes full text of both books and journals.
- OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) has materials relating to economic and social conditions of member countries and worldwide.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
Extensive annotated bibliographies in several subject areas. UCD does not subscribe to all bibliiographies.
- Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks in Business and Management, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion are online.
- Springer Ebooks package
Springer ebooks include collections in these humanities & social science areas:
* Architecture & Design
* Behavioral Science
* Business & Economics
* Humanities, Social Science & Law