Physical Sciences & Engineering eBooksHealth Sciences eBooksHumanities & Social Sciences eBook Collections
This is the "Physical Sciences & Engineering eBooks" page of the "Ebooks at the UC Davis University Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Ebooks at the UC Davis University Library  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Physical Sciences & Engineering eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Big, Multi-Subject Collections

Springer
Large collection of journals, books, book series, reference works and protocols published by Springer.  Subjects included are:  Architecture and Design; Behaviorial Science; Biomedical and Life Sciences; Business and Economics; Chemistry and Materials Science; Computer Science; Earth and Environmental Science; Enginering; Humanities, Social Sciences and Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Medicine; and Physics and Astronomy.
  • Includes over 800 of Springer's APress professional and and applied computing manuals & practical guidebooks.
  • Titles from 2005-present can be bought at a discounted price of $24.95 - look for MyCopy.

Wiley
Over 1300 e-books largely in chemistry, physical sciences, biosciences, & engineering.  The UC's purchased all 2011 & 2012 e-books.   Includes 2011-12 IEEE e-books (older years on IEEE Xplore platform).

 

Specialized Collections: Physical Sciences & Engineering

See  Subject Guides for Physical Sciences & Engineering  for additional online books
 
Access Engineering   (via CDL-hosted platform)   
Selected titles from McGraw-Hill Professional engineering books, such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers,  Perry's Chemical Engineers HandbookStandard Handbook for Electrical EngineersRoark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more.  
 
 
ACS Symposium Series eBooks,  2011-on
ACS (American Chemical Society) Symposium books online from 2011 on. 
Volumes published in 2010 and earlier are available in print. 
To locate a print volume: search by title in Harvest, or search the Harvest catalog for  "ACS Symposium" and Volume #.
 
 
 Annual Reviews,   1996-on
Annual reviews is a serial that publishes critical reviews of research in the biomedical, life, physical and social sciences. 
 
ASABE Technical Library Online Books
(American Society of Agricultural & Biological Engineers)
Books, technical papers, reports, textbooks, reference books, and standards published by ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers).  Coverage:  2001 – present.

CRCNetBase
A collection of over 1500 handbooks, textbooks and manuals in agriculture, biology, business, chemistry, engineering, ergonomics, materials science, math, nutrition, physics, plant science, polymers, project management, statistics, telecommunications, textiles, toxicology and tribology.  Search all titles using the CRCnetBASE link, or search by subject area using the links below.

IEEE Wiley e-books on IEEE Xplore  (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
The IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library include all IEEE-Wiley titles for the current year plus the complete backlist of more than 400 titles. The collection spans bioengineering, power & energy and communication technologies among other growing areas of research. Access these books via IEEE xPlore. Books are in downloadable pdf format.  2011 & 2012 IEEE books are on Wiley platform.
RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry),  1968-on 
The RSC ebooks package includes nearly 1,000 books published since 1968, covering food science, physical, organic, environmental and analytical chemistry, materials and nanoscience, industry and pharma, biosciences.  It includes the Specialist Periodical Reports and Tutorial Chemistry Texts.
Safari Tech Books Online
A collection that includes the full text of over 300 O'Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O'Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections. Coverage: last 5 years.  
 
SIAM   (Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
Online books from 2011 & 2012 are available, plus the complete backlist of nearly 400 titles.
 
 
SPIE eBooks     (International Society for Optics & Photonics)
Online books from SPIE, including reference materials, in the areas of imaging, optics and electro-optics, micro- & nano-technologies, and communication and information technologies. Books from these 3 series are available: SPIE Press Monographs, Tutorial Texts, and Field Guides.  Books are in downloadable pdf format.
 
 
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
A collection of online "lectures" on cutting-edge topics in engineering and computer science. Lectures are from 50-100 pages in PDF format, and are designed to provide an introduction to the topic and in-depth analysis. The lectures are arranged in series; sample series topics include computational electromagnetics, digital circuits and systems, and image, video and multimedia processing (browse series here).  New series and lectures are added continuously and existing lectures will be revised as needed.
 

Ask a Librarian

In Person

By Appointment

Via Chat:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip