UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.
- United Nations Statistics Division
The United Nations offers unrestricted access to a number of statistical databases through this site.
Multilingual statistical databases provided by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO). Topics include food and agricultural production and trade, fisheries, land use and irrigation, fertilizers and more. The comprehensive databases cover many countries over long periods of time.
- International Human Development Indicators
United Nations Development Programme
The human development data utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI) and other composite indices featured in the Human Development Report are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most current statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of this annual report. Calculations of HDI values and country rankings are the sole responsibility of the Human Development Report Office.
- City Population
This site features the population of all countries, major cities and agglomerations for each country. This site also provides data on the land area and population of the administrative divisions for each country.
- Geohive: Global Statistics
This site provides population statistics of regions, countries, provinces and cities. It also provides data on land area, natural resources, energy and economy.
- Population Statistics: Historical Demography of all Countries, their Divisions and Towns
This site provides historical demographic data at the national level, and historical population data for cities and administrative districts.
- United Nations: Population Density and Urbanization
This site presents data on the population of the city proper according to its administrative boundaries and on the urban agglomeration (comprising the city proper plus its contiguous built-up areas). Since population census years differ among countries and areas, the reference years for the city populations vary.
- World Gazetteer
This site provides a comprehensive set of population data and related statistics including: current population figures and area size for all countries and important territories; population figures and area size of administrative divisions; population figures for the largest cities, towns and places as well as for metropolitan areas; historical population data (census or estimates; mostly from last or last two censuses).
- Statistical Abstracts of the World [Proquest Online]
This resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.
Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.
- OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web
OFFSTATS provides links to free official statistical data sites from around the world. Find statistics by country, regional or topic. Links are to official statistical agencies in countries, international organizations, and other organizations. OFFSTATS is sponsored by the University of Auckland Library.