KEY RESOURCES
This is the "KEY RESOURCES" page of the "Russian and Eastern European Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Russian and Eastern European Studies  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/russian-and-east-european-studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

KEY RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RELATED GUIDES

The box can be used for an optional list of links to related subject guides should there be any.   This is a rich-text box, so you use the Rich Text editor to manually create hyperlinked text.  Here's one example

   You can make one list for the entire guide by copying the box from the main page on all other pages.  Or you can customize the list for each page in the guide by making it a standalone box (copying and unlinking is a way to do this).

Researching Contemporary Artists

You can also create your own box and make it a link box if you just want to add links to other guides. 

RELATED GUIDES

The box can be used for an optional list of links to related subject guides should there be any.   This is a rich-text box, so you use the Rich Text editor to manually create hyperlinked text.  Here's one example

   You can make one list for the entire guide by copying the box from the main page on all other pages.  Or you can customize the list for each page in the guide by making it a standalone box (copying and unlinking is a way to do this).

Researching Contemporary Artists

I (DM) changed this box to a List and Links.

      

    KEY RESOURCES

    Using Add/edit Text you can insert a description of the purpose of this box here, if you like.  To add items from the Big store, use the Add New Link option at the bottom of the box.

    If you want to make your own boxes, use the "Add New Box"  link, select "Create New Box" and then pick "Content Box Type"  for "Links & Lists". 

    Because of the look of LibGuides, I recommend keeping the number of tabs to a minimum.  Also, while libguides permits the creation of  hierarchical pages, they are not easy to discover and I recommend against using them for the most part.
    I am using a convention of Box titles in all caps, page titles in title case.  This combination seems cleanest and most functional.


    If you want to group resources in a single box, you can create anchors to jump from the top of the box to a specific location within the box.  See Guide FAQ http://guidefaq.com/a.php?qid=38687

    The following resources are examples added using the "Reuse Link" from The Big Store.

    [Dan's notes revived 9/4/13]

    • Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]  
        
        Icon
      The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
    • ARTstor  Icon
      ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of hundreds of thousands of digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

      For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN or the Proxy Server.

     

    Guide Look & Feel

    We have developed some modifications to the LibGuide Out-Of-the-Box settings that change the look and feel of a guide.  The changes the code makes are:

    • Text Font:  The default text font inside the boxes with links and lists is bigger (up to 12px or 14px in links, text, and lists) 
    • Borders:  The borders around boxes have been reduced to be slimmer
    • Bullets:  List bullets are square instead of round.  This coordinates better with the library look and feel.
    • Links:  Links are bold
    • Box Colors:  Color of the links, borders and box headers have been changed to a dard blue to better coordinate with the colors on the library home page.
    • Color used in this example is #003366 which is a dark navy blue; color choice is optional


    To make the above changes, the code below will override the default colors, font size and borders.  (Defaults are a pale gray around the boxes, and the default type font inside the links & list boxes is a very small font hard on the eyes).  This guide uses the modifications so you can see an example.

    FAQ Notes:

    A color setting on a individual box will override the new defaults set in the Custom JS/CSS Code.  To see this, go to Edit on the right corner of a box, and "Edit Box Info".  Change color to whatever you like and this will be only for that one box.  You can make the box border disappear by making it white, eg. #FFFFFF.


    If the Guide Look & Feel tab for Change Guide Style weren't grayed out we should be able to modify through a more friendly interface.

    To override the defaults using this code:

    1. Use the "Guide Look & Feel" tab
    2. Go to "Custom JS/CSS Code
    3. Copy and paste the following into the box
    4. Save and Close

    That's all.  This sets the above for your entire guide. 

    [Latest version of Marcia's notes added 9/4/13]


    COPY/PASTE the following:

    <style>
    .outerbox { padding:1px; }  this sets the border size for the box border
    </style>
    <style>
    .headerbox { margin-bottom:1px; }  this sets the border size for the header of the box
    </style>
    <style>
    .itemlist ul { list-style-type: square; } this line determines whether or not there are bullet points by each link and is setting bullets to square
     </style>

     <style>
    a:link {font-weight:bold;} this one bolds the link
     </style>

    <style>
    a {color:#003366;} this determines the color of the link
    .linkdesc { font: 12px  Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;}
    .itemlist li { font: 14px Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif}  this one changes the font size of the link titles, for some reason requires both lines
     </style>

    <style>
    .linkdesc { font: 14px  Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;} this one changes the size and font of the type in the link description
    </style>

    <style>
    .headerbox h2 {color: #ffffff; }
    .headerbox { background: #003366;}  this is the background color inside the header box
    .headerbox h2 {font: bold 14 px Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, Sans-serif; }   type font style, size, color inside the header
    </style>
    <style>
    .outerbox { background: #003366;}
    .borderbox { background: #003366;}  This sets the border color
    .innerbox { background-color: #ffffff; padding: 8px;}  sets the background color inside each box
    </style>

    Contact Me

    Profile Image
    Adam Siegel
    Contact Info
    Peter J. Shields Library / 100 North West Quad
    University of California, Davis
    Davis, CA 95616
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip