KEY RESOURCES
This is the "KEY RESOURCES" page of the "Russian and Eastern European Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Russian and Eastern European Studies  

Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/russian-and-east-european-studies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

KEY RESOURCES Print Page
  Search: 
 

KEY RESOURCES

As is generally the case, the broadly interdisciplinary nature of "Russian and Eastern European Studies" means that there is no single index or bibliographic tool that exhaustively covers all the relevant literature.  Conducting research in broader disciplines with a Russian, Slavic, or Central/Eastern Europeans/Eurasian focus may require relying on subject-specific indexes (e.g., History, Literature, Anthropology, Political Science, etc.).

  • Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies [via OCLC FirstSearch]  Icon
    "Covers the social sciences and humanities with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe."
  • Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei
    "The Indiana University Digital Library Program presents Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei, a digitized serial publication that indexes Soviet-era periodicals from 1956 to 1975.

    The paper version, in publication since 1926, covers more than 1,700 journals, series, and continuing publications of academies, universities, and research institutes in the fields of humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences, and it also covers the popular periodical literature.

    Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei provides access to the periodical literature of an essential time in modern Russian history, beginning with the period of the Khrushchev "Thaw" following the 20th CPSU Congress and continuing through the first half of the so-called Brezhnev "Period of Stagnation". Virtually any student or scholar studying Russian political science, literature, or history between 1956-1975 will find Letopis' Zhurnal'nykh Statei to be an invaluable resource. "
  • Pravda Digital Archive 1912-2009 [via East View]  Icon
    "Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation."
    Coverage: 1912-2009
  • Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]  
      
      Icon
    The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Contact Me

Profile Image
Adam Siegel
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip