This is the "Specialized Periodical and Book Sources" page of the "Contemporary Artists: How to find Reviews, Articles, and Interviews" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Contemporary Artists: How to find Reviews, Articles, and Interviews  

Last Updated: Jan 12, 2012 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/Goldstein_contemporary_artists Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Specialized Periodical and Book Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Links

Library Home Page--The starting place for all your research.  Here you'll find links to the Subject Guides, Harvest: the library catalog and much more.

 

Periodical Indexes

The two best databases for searching Art periodicals for contemporary artists are:

Art-Full Text--Begin by selecting "Artist" as the search field and search for the person you want.  You can also select a specific document type like "biography" or "exhibit"  or "interview."  Then follow the "uc-elinks" tab to get to what you've found.


ArtBibliographies Modern -- This bibliography also has a number of specialized search fields.  For example, you can search by gallery as well as by artist.   Explore and see which ones might work best for you.


If the Artist is a woman, try:

GenderWatch -- This is a full text collection of both popular and scholarly materials collected around the idea of impact of gender in a wide range of disciplines.


If the Artist is identified as a minority or American ethnic artist try:

Ethnic NewsWatch -- This resource is a full-text collection of articles from American ethnic, minority and native press (newspapers, magazines and journals).

Reviews and Articles on Contemporary Artists

 

Books

The library owns a large number of artists biographies and books of interviews with artists.  The best way to find them is to search in Harvest, the library's catalog as follows:

Use the Subject Word(s) Search option and search on either  "Artists Interviews" or "Artists Biography."  You can substitute specific types of artists for that word in your search as well.  For example "Sculptors Interviews" or "Painters Biography".

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip