This is the "Endnote" page of the "BIM 116: Writing Assignment #1" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

BIM 116: Writing Assignment #1  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/bim116 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Endnote Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is Endnote?

Endnote is bibliographic citation management software that allows you to:

  • store, manage & format bibliographic citations
  • easily print a list of citations for a bibliography
  • use the "Cite While You Write" feature to format citations with Word

 
Two versions are available:

Endnote Online

  • Probably best for undergrads, free to UC Davis students, faculty, staff
  • Requires online registration
  • Part of the Web of Science database, but can be used with most article databases

Endnote (Desktop Version):

  • The desktop version (requires installation of software) is available free to current UC Davis students, faculty & staff.
  • Is more complex to use, has a more significant learning curve
  • To download the program: log-on to MyUCDavis, then click on RESOURCES --> SOFTWARE  -->  ENDNOTE.
    For installation help, contact Campus IET or your department's computer support.

      

    Endnote Online: In 5 Easy Steps

    Use "Endnote Online" (also called Endnote Web) to put your citations in IEEE Format:

     1. Register for a My Endnote Online account

    • Use the link above, or,
    • From the Web of Science database:
      click on the "Endnote" link  (in gray bar at top screen)


    2. Getting References INTO Endnote

       From Web of Science:

    • Log on to Endnote Online
    • Search Web of Science.  Then from the Web of Science results screen:
      • Select citations to export,                                           
        • click on the Save to EndNote online link   Upload to Endnote Web
        • choose  Save to EndNote online                       
      • Use Numbers of Records to identify which citations to send, then for Record Content  choose:   (Author, Title, Source, and Abstract)
      • click SEND
    • Export will happen automatically

     


      
    From PubMed:

    • Select citations to export (use checkboxes)
    • Click dropdown arrow to the right of SEND TO link (upper right part of screen)
      • Select FILE
      • Select: FORMAT: MEDLINE (drop down option)
      • Select: SORT BY: any option is fine
    • Click CREATE FILE 
    • Choose:  SAVE FILE  (the default name is: pubmed_result.txt)
    • Log on to Endnote Online
    • Select COLLECT tab 
    • Select IMPORT REFERENCES
    • Enter:
      • File:  Enter name of file  (e.g., citations.nbib)
      • Import option:  PubMed (NLM)
      • To:  Select group (library) where citations should be imported
    • Click IMPORT

    You can also cut and paste, or enter citations manually


    3.  Create Libraries (two methods)

    • ORGANIZE tab
      • MANAGE MY GROUPS 
      • New Group  

          OR

    • MY REFERENCES tab
      • Select references for new library
      • ADD TO GROUP --> New Group


    4.
    Getting References OUT of Endnote

    • To create List of References:
      • Select  FORMAT tab
      • Select BIBLIOGRAPHY
        • References: choose library
        • Bibliographic Style: choose citation style
        • File Format: choose RTF
      • Choose:  SAVE, EMAIL or Preview & Print
    • Cite While You Write
      • Let's you embed citations in your Word document, while using Endnote Online to format them


    5.  Sharing References
        
    Allows you to share references with others

    • ORGANIZE tab
    • Manage My Groups
    • Manage Sharing
      • Add email(s)

     

        

      Endnote: Desktop Software

      ENDNOTE - Desktop Version:

      If you want to use the deskktop version of Endnote you will first need to install it on your computer, and search article databases from that computer.  Unlike the web version - references and Endnote library's will only be available from that computer. 

      Getting References INTO Endnote (Desktop Version) 

         From Web of Science:
          
      Directions are the same as for Endnote Online, EXCEPT:
           when you click on the MyEndnote.com radio button
          select the ENDNOTE option, rather than the MyEndnote.com option

      • Search Web of Science,
      • Select citations to export 
      • Click on MyEndnote.com radio button, select the ENDNOTE option  (not the MyEndnote.com option) 
      • Endnote will open automatically and import the citations. 
        • If you have multiple Endnote libraries, it will ask you which Endnote library to import the citations to.


        
      From PubMed:

      • Search PubMed,
      • Select citations to export (use checkboxes) 
      • Click drop down arrow to the right of SEND TO link (in upper right part of screen)
        • Select CITATION MANAGER
        • Select CREATE FILE
        • Click OK
      • Dialog box: OPEN WITH: Select: ENDNOTE
      • Click OK 
      • Endnote note will open automatically and import the citations. 
        • If you have multiple Endnote libraries, it will ask you which Endnote library to import the citations to.

       

      Getting References OUT of Endnote (Desktop Version)

      • Select Library (or highlight references to export)
      • Select  FILE --> EXPORT
        • File Name: whatever you want to name it, note where you save it
        • Save As Type: choose RTF
        • Output Sytle: choose IEEE
      • Go to file you created above, and your references will be there

          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip