This is the "Articles" page of the "Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Biomedical Engineering Subject Guide  

Library resources for the field of Biomedical Engineering
Last Updated: Mar 9, 2017 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/bme Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles

Primary Article Databases

BIOSIS
Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, including bioengineering and biotechnology. Many citations include abstracts.  Coverage: 1969 - present.
 
Compendex
Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records.
Coverage: 1884 - present.
 
PubMed
PubMed indexes the medical literature, including medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and preclinical sciences. It contains over 20 million citations, and indexes over 8,400 journals.  PubMed is produced by the National Library of Medicine.   Coverage: 1946 - present.
 
Web Of Science
Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including biomedical engineering. This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify.  Coverage: 1900 - present.
 

Other Key Databases

Academic Universe
Includes thousands of full-text newspapers & other news sources, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also business information, law journals, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Good for current events, company background.
 
Academic Search Complete
Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.
Coverage: 1887 - present.
 
Annual Reviews: Biomedical Engineering
Search Annual Reviews in the following subject areas: Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell and Developmental Biology, Ecology and Systematics, Entomology, Genetics, Genomics and Human Genetics, Immunology, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology and Plant Molecular Biology, Psychology, and Public Health.
Coverage:  Full Text:  1996 - present;
Tables of Contents only: 1984 - 1995.
 
Applied Mechanics Reviews
Contains abstracts and bibliographic citation information on articles in mechanics and related fields published in over 500 international journals. Available at PSE TA1.A6, V.1, 1948-
 
SciFinder    [Registration Required]
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 29 million citations and indexes over 10,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts.  Cited Reference Searching:  1996 - present.
Coverage: 1907 - present (with selected pre-1907 material).
 
Register for SciFinder (Required)
 
About SciFinder:  On & Off-Campus Use, Troubleshooting & Help, Guides
 
Java Plug-in required for structure searching
 
SciFinder can only be used by UC students, faculty and staff.

  
IEEE Xplore
Provides access to full-text IEEE transactions, journals, conference proceedings, and standards and IEE/IET journals and conferences. Offers basic, advanced, author and table of contents searching. Coverage: 1988 - present.
 
INSPEC
Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1898 - present.
 
Synthesis Lectures on Biomedical Engineering
These 50- to 100-page publications synthesize important research or development topics in Biomedical Engineering. Each lecture is available as a PDF. Part of the Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science.
  
Physical Sciences & Engineering Library Databases
A complete list.
 
Carlson Health Sciences Library/Blaisdell Medical Library - Health Sciences Databases
From this page, click "COMPLETE LIST"
      
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip