Books: Print and Online
- Library Catalog (formerly Harvest Catalog)
- The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out. If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.
- Use the catalog to locate books, journals (but not articles), government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.
- MELVYL UC Library Catalog Melvyl Help
- The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.
- As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials. MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES tab to access article databases.)
- The REQUEST button: allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).
- Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book
- Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright)
- But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in
ASABE Technical Library Online Books
ASABE Technical Library Online Books
- Teaching Materials for a Gin Operations Course, 2014
- Soil and Water Conservation Engineering, Seventh Edition, 2013
- Designing Structural Components for Machines, 2010
- Dynamics of Biological Systems, 2003
- Engineering Principles of Agricultural Machines, Second Edition, 2006
- Engine & Tractor Power, 4th Edition, 2004
- Fundamentals of Electricity for Agriculture 3rd Edition, 2004
- Food & Process Engineering Technology, 2004
- Off-Road Vehicle Engineering Principles, 2003
- Advances in Soil Dynamics, Volume 1
- Advances in Soil Dynamics, Volume 2
- Advances in Soil Dynamics, Volume 3
- Design and Operation of Farm Irrigation Systems, 2nd Edition
- Livestock Energetics and Thermal Energy Management, 2009
- Pesticides in Domestic Wells
CIGR Handbook of Agricultural Engineering, Volume 1-6 Shields S675 .C54 1999
CIGR (International Commission of Agricultural Engineering,
a.k.a. Commission Internationale du Génie Rural)
- Volume I: Land and Water Engineering
- Volume II: Animal Production & Aquacultural Engineering
- Volume III: Plant Production Engineering
- Volume IV: Energy and Biomass Engineering
- Volume V: Agro-Processing Engineering
- Volume VI: Information Technology
ASABE Distinguished Lectures
ASABE Special Publications
- A Quality Assurance Project Plan for Monitoring Gaseous and Particulate Matter Emissions from Broiler Housing
- Air Pollutant Emissions from Confined Animal Buildings (APECAB) Project
- Animal Agriculture and the Environment, National Centure for Manure & Animal Waste Management White Papers
- Final Report: Gulf Hypoxia and Local Water Quality Concerns Workshop
- Looking Beneath the Surface of Agricultural Safety and Health
Major Online Book Collections
Search the library catalog to find additional online and print books, including:
- ACS Symposium Series eBooks, 1974-on
- UC Davis has the ACS (American Chemical Society) Symposium books online from 1974 on. Volumes published in 2010 and earlier are also available in print.
- ACS Advances in Chemistry, 1949-1998
- Founded in 1949, Advances in Chemistry series was the predecessor to the ACS Symposium Series.
- Annual Reviews, 1996-on
- Critical reviews covering primary research literature in the physical, biomedical, life, and social sciences. Can provide a good overview for topics you are not familiar with. Chemical and Engineering fields covered include: chemical and biomolecular engineering; fluid mechanics; materials research; analytical chemistry; biochemistry; physical chemistry; and pharmacology and toxicology.
- Online: 1996 - present.
- Tables of Contents only: 1984 - 1995. Use the library catalog to find these in print.
- RSC eBooks, 1968-on
- The RSC (Royal Society of Chemistry) ebooks package, includes over 1000 books published since 1968, including the Specialist Periodical Reports series and Tutorial Chemistry Texts.
- Springer eBooks, 2005-on
- Springer ebooks package includes over 28,000 scholarly books, covering all scientific disciplines. Books are published in English and German.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
- A collection of online "lectures" on cutting-edge topics in engineering and computer science. Lectures are from 50-100 pages in PDF format, and are designed to provide an introduction to the topic with in-depth analysis. Lectures are organized by series, available series listed here.
- Wiley eBooks, 2011-on
- Over 1300 ebooks focused on chemistry, physical sciences, biosciences & engineering. The UC's purchased all 2011 and 2012 ebooks, including IEEE ebooks (older years on IEEE Xplore platform).