Quick Guide to congressional documentsCongressional HearingsOpen Government Congressional sites
Government Documents as Primary SourcesHistorical Government Publications - Print Guides and Indexes
American FactfinderCensus of AgricultureEconomic CensusCensus of Governments
This is the "Historical Government Publications - Print Guides and Indexes" page of the "Government Information - United States" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UC Davis Homepage UC Davis Library Questions? Chat, Email, Phone, Ask Us! VPN Subject Guides Course Guides Topic Guides

Government Information - United States   Tags: congress, congressional, data, government, government information, laws, legislation, political science  

Last Updated: Sep 15, 2016 URL: http://guides.lib.ucdavis.edu/usgov Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Historical Government Publications - Print Guides and Indexes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Historical Government Publications - Print Indexes and Guides

U.S. Federal government publications were published by all executive agencies and many old agency publications, for example, agency annual reports, were published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set as well as in separate agency publications.  The old agency publications may be found in the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set.  The following print guides and indexes and finding aids are the basic tools for identifying U.S. documents.  Documents published after 1976 are listed in the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, and most are cataloged in the UC Melvyl catalog or in the UC Davis Library's Harvest catalog.

These tools index historical U.S. government publications:

1774-1881    Poore, Benjamin Perley    Descriptive Catalogue of the Government Publications of the United States, Sept. 5, 1774-March 4, 1881.    Washington: Government Printing Office, 1885.  Continued by Ames' Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893 and by the Catalogue of Public Documents, 53d- Congress, 1893- .  Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z1223.A 1885

1789-1909    Checklist of United States Public Documents, 1789-1909.    3rd ed., New York:  Kraus Reprint Corp., 1962 (Reprint of 3rd ed., GPO 1911).  1st-60th Congress.  complete checklist (in SuDoc number order) of judicial, executive, and legislative public documents issues by the U.S. Government. Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z1223 .A113

CIS index to U.S. executive branch documents, 1789-1909 :guide to documents listed in Checklist of U.S. public documents, 1789-1909, not printed in the U.S. serial set.Parts 1-6, Supplement, Commere and Labor Department, Treasury Department, War Department and additional agencies, 3 vols.

1881-93     Ames, John G.     Comprehensive Index to the Publications of the United States Government, 1881-1893.   Washington:  GPO, 1905, 2 vol.  Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z1223 .A 1905

1900-     Monthly Catalog of the United States Government Publications.    Washington:  GPO, 1895-  .  An index to Congressional publications, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive agencies.  Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z1223 .A18 (to 1976)

1900-1971      Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1900-1971.     Arlington, VA: Carrollton Press, Inc., 1973-95.  Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z1223.A1 K361

CIS index to U.S. executive branch documents, 1789-1909 :guide to documents listed in Checklist of U.S. public documents, 1789-1909, not printed in the U.S. serial set.   Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Government Information J83 .C16 1990.  Library has parts 1-6. (CSL,  Stanford,  UCLA, UCSD have fiche collections)

CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders & Proclamationsfrom 1789.  Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Government Information KF70 .A55 1986 10 volumes.  (UCR has microfiche collection)

CIS US congressional committee prints index : from the earliest publications through 1969   .  Congressional Information Service.  Located in Government Information Reference,  Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Government Information J74 .C66.  5 volumes.  (CSL, UCB, and other UC libraries have the microfiche collection) 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip