- A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
From the University of Oklahoma College of Law.
- American Memory collection from the Library of Congress
Primary documents from American history, including the Federalist Papers, the Constitution, Continental Congress, Constitutional Convention.
- Core Documents of Our Democracy
Official editions of documents from the Articles of Confederation through selected Presidential papers from GPO.
- Documents from the Constitutional Congress & Constitutional Convention 1771-1789
277 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Items include extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
- Documents of American history (edited by Henry Steele Commager) [PRINT}
2 Volumes. Volume 1 includes official documents from the discovery of America to 1898 while volume 2 continues through 1973. Official documents are included such as those establishing territories and statehood, state and federal legislative acts, resolutions, famous speeches and debates, presidential addresses and statements, legal documents, court cases and arguments, and documents effecting social change. Introductory notes providing the historical context for the document and citations to sources are also included.
Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference E173 .D59 1988
- Foreign Relations of the United States
State Department edition of the FRUS series. Not yet completed for all volumes. Print volumes are complete in the library. Volumes begin in 1861 with the Lincoln administration.
Shields Library JX233 .A3
- Kappler's Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties
A compilation of all laws and treaties and executive orders regarding Native Americans 1871-1970, but it does not include the California treaties.
Also in print, Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference KF8203 1975
Official web site of the National Archives of the United States.
- Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives
The Guide includes descriptions of records that originated in the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of the federal government. It's possible to search the guide or look for record groups.
- Guide to federal records in the National Archives of the United States
U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. 1995. Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference CD3026 1995
- Public Papers of the Presidents
This site (from UMich) includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton. As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online.
- Public Papers of the Presidents (print)
The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) began publishing the Public Papers of the Presidents series in 1957 as an official publication of United States Presidents' public writings, addresses, and remarks. Volumes for Presidents Hoover through Clinton (excluding Roosevelt) are under this call number. Indexes for each administration issued under title: The cumulated indexes to The public papers of the Presidents of the United States.
Shields Library J80 .A2
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (print)
Shields Library J80 .A25
Presidential speeches, proclamations, executive orders, etc from 1965-2000
- American Presidency Project
An archive from UCSB that includes these presidential documents and more
• The Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington - Taft (1789-1913)
• The Public Papers of the Presidents: Hoover to G.W. Bush (1929-2006) & Obama (2009)
• The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: Carter - G.W. Bush (1977-2009)
• The Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: Obama (2009-2012)